Chaos Attraction

Not Moving Yet

2012-01-06, 9:20 p.m.

Today I woke up after having a horrible dream in which I was being suddenly stalked. I kept running around yelling about the Gift of Fear. I followed up that stunning awakening by going to the dentist. What a morning. By 10 a.m. I already wanted to go home and drink.

Well, it got better from there-- I read Shockaholic and it cheered me up mightily (love Carrie Fisher) and bought a few more books and some craft items during lunch. I got a knitting book and the "Carfree in Los Angeles" book I saw before vacation-maybe it'll be less of a freakout if I research the ways in which I don't HAVE to drive there.

And then I went home, started uploading the California Adventure pics, and watched The Thin Man for the Popcorn Dialogues podcast. Nick and Nora have great lines, but what the hell is the plot? I'm going to have to watch it again to try to get that down.

...Yeah, this is why I don't normally blog on a regular boring day. Even I'm not interested in my day here.


I should wait on a move. I am obviously not ready yet even though I wanted to think that Setting A Date would Make It So (TM Picard). And while I am deeply worried that I'll just stay forever if I don't move soon...you can't hurry driving readiness, no matter how much I'd like to by now. And if I don't get laid off this year (looks like budget news is good this week?), I can save more money before moving and/or maybe even pay off most of a car or something, so there is that. And that gives me more time to figure out if finding a month-to-month somewhere is feasible in the middle of that.

I don't like the idea of giving in to more inertia and not moving this year, but I clearly need to stay on the "slow grownup" path, like usual. Or at least I'm not likely to do otherwise short of some money fairy coming along, combined with a miraculous improvement in my driving ability.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com