Chaos Attraction

January Sucks

2008-01-08, 2:57 p.m.

January sucks and we haven't even hit The Big Death Anniversary yet.

* Three words: upcoming dentist appointment. I need not say more.
* Storms, blackouts, frigid temperatures.
* Friend drama up the wazoo. Which is to say, Gifting Grinch has struck again, sending me a bitchy e-mail complaining how Certain People (not me, but I'm sure my day is coming) did not spend enough on her gifts this year. Also bitching that nobody bought her the expensive wishlist stuff. I really just plain do not want to send her her goddamned gift now, because I know she'll bitch about it to all and sundry. Well, excuse me for not having the money to spend on presents that YOU do.

I've known her for most of a decade now, and I swear SHE DIDN'T ALWAYS ACT LIKE THIS. Heck, she didn't act like this in NOVEMBER. I seriously do not know what to do. I know you're thinking, "Dump her! Dump her!" and on some level, I am too, but on the other hand, the number of friendships I have that have lasted longer than 2 years, well, I can count them on one hand. And I am reluctant to throw someone out on angry impulse, no matter how tempted I may be to do so. If she continues to act like this, yeah, it may come to that- or heck, maybe she'll dump me once she sees the gift. Part of me is incredibly reluctant to mail it (though she wants to know where it is now, dammit!), the other part just wants to get it over with.

I said to my boss that January sucks and she said, "No, February sucks." I asked why that was worse and she pretty much gave the same reasons for February sucking that January sucks for. I agreed, though I said I still give January the nod for being three days longer worth of suck, even if February has V-Day in the middle of it.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com