Chaos Attraction

Slowly Moving Back In

2011-01-23, 9:28 p.m.

Saturday was kind of a mess. Let's just say that trying to schedule 3 things going on that day, within a 4 hour period of time? BAD FUCKING IDEA.

Which is to say that (a) the repair guy(s) ran into difficulties that morning and thus could not deliver the furniture to me/get final paperwork signed off before I had to move out of the motel, (b) checkout was at 11 and Mom did not show up until 10:45-- I got out in time, but I was stressed-- and (c) just as we were headed to lunch with the relatives, I got a call from the guy asking if he could drop it off now?

ARGH.

So the furniture is here since they still have the key, but I couldn't do one last paperwork signing. I don't know how that's gonna go.

I was planning on spending the entire weekend cleaning, but what with the relatives and all, I didn't even get started on that until about 5 p.m. on Saturday.

All things considered, I have done pretty well:

(a) cleaned kitchen
(b) cleaned bathroom
(c) steam mopped floors, for all the good that does on the crap linoleum
(d) vacuumed the living room
(e) put away all of the clothes
(f) put away all of the books
(g) put away all of the toys
(h) made 4.5 boxes of stuff to give away/get rid of/sell
(i) while the living room is still messy, it's now almost back at its pre-flood version of messy rather than the total avalanche that it was for 2 weeks. At the very least, people can sit on the couch again.

My bedroom is about 95% done, other than putting away the jewelry and figuring out what to do with the 1.5 boxes I have deemed "random crap." I haven't even started on the craft room, which is now the Avalanche Room, but oh well. I just hope I have the interest, energy, and momentum to pick up on this again next weekend. I'd rather not drift off and start thinking that a mess in there is "normal" or I go slack off and watch DVD's or something instead.

Wow, this is the boringest entry EVER. Well, I just wanted to say that yeah, I actually got a lot of work done this weekend, which is impressive for me. Things are getting back to normal.

P.S. I really loathe how with certain kinds of stuff, you have to save the paperwork for them in perpetuity Just In Case. I am a packrat anyway, but it's irritating to have to save every bill. And in the case of this insurance stuff, having saved every PG&E bill has suddenly become a Just In Case. Argh.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com