Chaos Attraction

Pantheacon, Day Two

2014-02-15, 9:37 a.m.

Pantheacon, Day Two:

I started out the day by attending the "Power of Love Ritual for Healing and Happiness." Hoo boy, that one was an emotional roller coaster. It was basically about purging your emotional crap, putting that emotional energy into a stick, then breaking up and disposing of the stick. Now, god knows I've got enough issues lately that I felt like I needed to go to that. The ritual started out with some folks (not me) talking out their various issues. The facilitator didn't make everyone talk (good thing or that would have taken up most of the time), I wasn't sure what I would say anyway.

I was sitting there, trying to charge my stick with general emotional badness and whatnot and feeling kinda "meh" about it. Then as the random thoughts in my brain wandered on through, I thought (I don't know why I went there, really) that I would have loved to have heard the annoyed, snarky comments my dad would have had about my mom's doofus ex in Arizona. And that was what got me crying for awhile. Now, I wasn't really watching myself there, obviously,

I was sitting there, trying to charge my stick with general emotional badness and whatnot and feeling kinda "meh" about it. Then as the random thoughts in my brain wandered on through, I thought (I don't know why I went there, really) that I would have loved to have heard the annoyed, snarky comments my dad would have had about my mom's doofus ex in Arizona. And that was what got me crying for awhile. Now, I wasn't really watching myself there, obviously, but I sort of have the impression after the fact that maybe I was one of the more conspicuous criers? Anyway, I got a lot of hugging and back patting during it from people I don�t know, which was really nice. Dear lord, did I get snot ON EVERYBODY. And those people were checking on me when I ran into them at other rituals. (�Well, it�s been a few hours and I�ve been pretty distracted since then, so I�m doing better�). It ended in a giant group hug. Yay. After that I went to the Divine Relationships panel.

In the afternoon, I went to the Oracle Deck Co-Creation Ritual, which a deck designer came up with last year. She said Pcon didn�t let her do it last year, so she did it in her coven�s suite and had it timed out pretty much to the MINUTE and it actually worked�so this year she got in. It was fun�she handed out small blank cards and felt tip markers and gave us ten minutes to draw anything we wanted on cards, and then put them all together into a random deck. All the cards were photographed and she knows of a website that will print the decks if we want them later. We also did divination using the decks. I�m amused that the card I got for asking what to do about a dark night of the soul was�.a nighttime scene. UH-HUH. What was also hilarious was someone asking if it was going to rain and a card with raindrops on it came up. And it did rain later that night, according to my wet car, so CALLED IT. That was a really cool thing to do. The 3:30 period drove me nuts because there were so many things I wanted to do�.but I had to go with listening to a favorite presenter of mine talking about oracles and tarot cards. As usual, it was a fun, good, informative time.

I spent my mealtimes alone and eating the lunches I brought in my cooler in the car�never did run into Merry or anyone else I knew previously all day. Kinda odd, that. But oh well. I also did some book buying and shopping, hah. I got a mini tarot deck, a Lenormand deck (more on that later), a book on magic and passion, some keys for key magic, and later a book on Lenormand and tarot. That�s pretty well restrained shopping for me.

That night I attended the �Construct A Discordian Psychic Battle-Tank!� ritual. It involved a lot of throwing of crayons, an orange yarn circle, making paper crowns to wear, and then having psychic staring fights while making science fiction noises. First one to laugh loses. I literally won every battle by singing the battle march from Star Wars while throwing in other random sound effects. The second half of it was a team competition in which battle tanks were made out of cardboard boxes and decorated, and then whatever �operator� you had small enough to fit into the box had psychic battles. A wackadoo good time was had by all. I also saw the Flying Spaghetti Monster at the event�seriously wish I could have photographed that costume. He had an interesting tentacle and eyeball setup on a bike helmet and a picnic-blanket thing on the bottom. He gave me a ribbon saying I had been touched by His Noodly Appendage.

At nine I went to �Mystical Love: Encountering the Divine Other,� which was�honestly, the dullest thing I�ve ever been to at Pcon. Hoo boy, was it dull. The presenters were surprisingly quiet personalities for here, and we pretty much just spent the entire hour-ish staring into our neighbor�s eyes. Repeatedly. While some people freaked out about doing that. No big deal to me, but�eh�.. I don�t know what I expected from this one, but this wasn�t it. I then skipped into a live concert, which was�. Well, it was a dance party and I was in the mood for a dance party, and they did have dancing going on. And it was kinda danceable. However, I would say that their music isn�t exactly to my taste. They even said that they weren�t metal enough for metal bands, but were too metal for everyone else�.which pretty much summed up my general dislike of their music. They were throwing some other kind of dance party afterwards during the 11 p.m slot, but when I heard that the band was coming back in 15 minutes, I elected to do something else.

Instead, I went to an empowerment ritual, which turned out to also be kind of a dance party. My kind of thing. Everyone lined up on one side of the room, went through a �ring of fire� (walked through a blanket) and then had a private talking-to and anointing with the chicks putting it on, while empowering ladies� music played. It took a long time, so those of us who went early were pretty much having a dance party while we waited for the end. I liked this one, I needed it. I just wish I remembered better what they said to me about it. Something along the lines of don�t listen to other people�. And yes, they did say different things to different people, for the record. Incidentally, you know what�s cool at Pcon? When old people are dancing. I love that.

Oh yeah, I haven�t mentioned the parental drama: Mauricio had the bright idea that he should bring Mom down to the con for dinner so she could get used to the people. I eventually told her that the people here would freak her out worse than those at Hot Topic and dissuaded everyone of that idea. She also kept wanting me to call her every single night when I got in, which was ridiculous.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com