Chaos Attraction

Living Conditions

2003-02-24, 6:26 p.m.

The weekend went okay. S&D weren't over for very long on Saturday and ended up hauling only one couch away (no room for #2), so they'll be back again at some point, I'm sure.

Much to my amusement, Hill came out and asked for the money Scott owed her (she had ordered two pairs of boots online by mistake, gave him one), and of course, he didn't have it- said he did have it, but it was in his wallet at home. Hill was all "Why on earth would you leave your wallet at home?" "Well, I'm not going drinking or gambling, so..." Truth be told, I've never SEEN his wallet- hell, Demma usually holds the money, if there is any. She was annoyed, while I was completely unsurprised.

We bought a lot of household supplies and groceries over the weekend, and also fish. For some reason Hill got the idea that she wanted to get a fish. We ended up with two guppies. In the grand tradition of giving macho names to small pets, they are named Killer and Spike. Hill had been pondering getting a red tail shark, and I said if she'd gotten it she would have had to name it Fluffy. She wasn't thrilled by that.


This cracks me up. They managed to somehow lose one of the monkeys from a lab at school. Which, of course, makes the university look real good when it comes to say, security matters with regards to labs and testing and whatnot.

I personally think the monkey will turn up at the arboretum, where it will be found humping a duck. (Okay, so I'm perverse.)

You'll note that this monkey has been on the loose since the thirteenth, and yet this is the first article I've seen about it. Nothing whatsoever about it in the school paper, which doesn't surprise me since they tend to be slow when it comes to reporting things like that. (We had a drug break-in and a guy thrown through a glass window in my dorm freshman year around May; it wasn't reported on in the paper until around September. And yes, they do publish the newspaper during the summer, so that's no excuse.) But what really surprised me is that there's been no mention of said monkey in the Sacbee, either. Hmmmmmm. This somehow seems suspicious, not to mention something that oughta be mentioned with regards to this story.


When people want you to know that you suck, they sure will tell you.

Exhibit A: Hill decided that she wanted us to clean the apartment floors yesterday. I just love being told that "You look like you've never held a broom before in your LIFE."

I said that I should have been born a boy, and she said "No, then you'd suck at even more things you're supposed to do." Good point. I guess I just suck, period.

She was so absolutely delighted to have a CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN!!!!!!floor. "Aren't you happy it's clean?" Are you kidding?

Then, of course, after all that work, I decided to try to make my lunches for the week early. And ended up dropping crumbs all over the nice clean floor. Guess there wasn't much point to doing all that work for a nice clean floor.

And I got yet another snippy note about the dishes today. God, I'm getting tired of those.

I could win this in a heartbeat. I qualify in every way.

Exhibit B: On the phone last night, Mom said "Well, I guess I'm just not going to get you any more cards any more, since you never acknowledged my Valentine's card."

"Huh? I CALLED you when I got that package, remember?"

Turns out "acknowledged" really translates into "You didn't send ME a card, and I don't see the point in getting you any gifts or anything else any more either if you won't send me a card."

Quite honestly, I wouldn't mind a bit if she stopped sending me cards. I'm not much of a card person. I actively dislike those sappy poetry flower cards that Mom sends out. I don't read them, I skim them and realize it's the same old crap. Funny cards are another story- I like and save those when I get them- but sappy cards I only save out of pure guilt. I don't enjoy them. Not that I'm going to be stupid enough to tell Mom this, of course.

And, as I told her, it never, ever occurs to me to go out and buy someone a special card all by myself. I pretty much only buy cards if I'm in a store that sells them, buying something else, and it occurs to me to throw that in.

She actually admitted that she was doing this to make me feel guilty, and then wondered why I'd say to her upon hearing things like this that I'm a selfish bitch. "Because you make me feel like one," I said. She ignored that. I told her that while guilt tripping works, if she REALLY wants a damn card, she should do the guilt tripping before the holiday, not afterward. "Oh, so you're going to go to the store tomorrow and get me a card then?" she said. "Hell no, if I buy you an Easter card in February it'll be lost by mid-March."

Oh yeah, and the entry that pissed everyone off is now being discussed over here. *sigh* Go over there and charbroil my ass, I deserve it.


I had to agree with Columbine on this: "I also tend to burn my bridges. If I do make a fatal mistake I write the person off - I assume that it can never be salvaged and that by trying I will just compound my humiliation."


By now, I am having a coughing fit pretty much every other day, no matter what I do. The timing of it doesn't matter. If I don't pop my decongestants (I just bought 2 boxes of them, with 96 pills apiece- I take 6-8 a day) regularly and on time, the fits are much deeper and harder on me. I was about out of pills Saturday morning when S&D were over and felt like I was coughing myself hollow for six hours straight. If I do pop my pills on time, I just end up with a minor coughing fit, like I'm having right now as I type.

The worst thing is when they happen at work. Because I am soooo tired of people commenting on it! Yes, I know that the entire first floor hears me coughing. No, I would not like a lozenge or cough syrup or insert remedy here- I've tried it, it doesn't work. I got really ticked off today when one guy told me that I sounded like I had pneumonia. I ALREADY HAD THAT.

Nobody seems to get that the cough is seemingly permanent, and there doesn't seem to be anything I can do about it, so they're just gonna have to live with it.


*sigh* Dave said he wants to come here this weekend. Wants out of his town, nothing to do there this weekend.

Given how Hill seems to be kinda weirdly anti-couple these days, I've been trying to discourage him coming over here just so things don't get weird. (That and I see him for longer if I go there instead of him coming here.) I can't really think of a way around this one right now.

Oh well, I think she's working on Friday at least...


I am not good at waiting around in suspense, as I'm sure you've noticed.

I am debating what to do about next year's living situation.

On the one hand, to be honest, Dave moving in would have some problems. He'll plotz when he finds out that half his paychecks will go to rent here. Because of his job schedule/situation, I actually wouldn't see him much because he wouldn't get home until around 10 p.m. most nights. (I should mention that this doesn't bother him, actually. So far.) If he ends up going to school over there, that's even more time not spent here that he might as well spend living in his town to make it easier. And of course, my family will pitch a bitch. This is assuming he even has the money to move in AND pay off debts AND get and keep the car running, which I am having my doubts about. On the one hand, if the car's not running, he can't move here. On the other hand, it'll take a lot to fix the damn thing. Grr.

But on the other hand, I feel that given how things have been during the last year, it would be rather wrong of me to subject a complete stranger to living with me and dealing with my boyfriend situation AND sloppiness to boot. I already tortured Hill enough this year, do I really need to spread it to someone else? And I really don't want to go look for a stranger to live with, either. REALLY not looking forward to that at all. And the whole commuting to his town thing does get tiring. I think we're both at least semi-fed up with that. And really, that should end at some point, we can't leave it hang indefinitely. Can't do any eventual plans very well in different towns.

Meanwhile, Hill's trying to convince me to live alone, since she "doesn't think we're ready yet." (Big surprise there, given how she seems to be anti-relationship for everyone she knows lately.) However, living alone would take up 2/3 of my salary. Not practical, not affordable, and I don't really like living alone anyway. (You know, I don't think Hill gets how living alone works financially. She thinks next year she'll have a huge 2-bedroom apartment all to herself with tons of nice, quality furniture. I'd like to know where she's getting the money for all of that.)

Or, of course there's the option of moving to his town. Which I REALLY don't want to do. Though if I get laid off here, that would sadly be the most "practical" thing to do. But dammit, I don't feel safe by myself in that town, and nobody likes living there.

*sigh* Something is going to have to be done one of these years. I don't know what, though. I'm almost about ready to tell him that he can't move in with me just so I won't have to sit in suspense worrying for months and waiting to find out whether or not he'll be able to swing it. Except then I think about how I'd be torturing another roommate with my relationship crap and then decide to keep my mouth shut. I don't really want to tell him no anyway, I just don't want to be stressing. But if I tell him no, I'll still be stressing, just in another area. Buggerall if I know what to do.

What do you do when you get to the point in a relationship where your having a relationship interferes with your roommate, yet you can't necessarily just immediately shack up together or live alone either?


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com