Chaos Attraction

Money Sucks

2003-03-02, 9:47 p.m.

As for my weekend, it went well. We went bed shopping at the mall on Saturday, as he has finally relented on the $800 bed thing and says we can get a normal one whenever we do. We talked to a saleschick who told us that if we came in May, we could get one of the demo beds for $300ish. That's totally fine by me! We also went back to the picture place to see about ordering more photos. I only got a few of the last batch we bought because people were demanding them and they didn't give us a whole lot in the first place. We ended up getting well, a lot more- ordered about 8 more wallets of our favorite shot and another package (1 8x10, 1 5x7 and 4 wallets) of another one of the shots taken that day. I really liked it almost as much as the favorite shot, because it was a photo that actually looked like me with personality instead of the usual Jennifer-poses-for-the-camera-while-bored-and-smiling thing. It was very cute.

I also went to Circuit City to get some computer programs, and ended up trying to see if I was eligible for their credit card. I knew I wasn't because lord knows I haven't been eligible for anything else, but the dude was shocked as hell when "Denied- no credit report" came up again. He was all "I used to work in collections, and I have NEVER SEEN THAT. You rented for years, something should come up."

Unfortunately, we made the mistake of mentioning this at the dinner table (his mom's "special birthday dinner"), and his dad practically blew up about the whole thing, telling me that that was because nobody ever reports when you have a good credit record/pay all your bills, how certain places never reported that he paid things back on time, etc., etc. Rather scary.

I'm still confused.

Sigh. It feels wrong to be home this early after a weekend at Dave's. I left on the train at 10:50 this morning, since he was going to work at 10:30 until 7 and there's not much point in my sticking around till he gets off. I can't say I'm that happy about his work schedule being like this and essentially cutting off a day for us either way, but it's not like there's a choice in the matter. Everyone has to work Sundays. Period.

Meanwhile, I was quite late getting home. Why on earth do any random freight trains get priority over Amtrak, I want to know. Because we were waiting around for at least a half hour for some freight train to pass us by and we were pretty late getting in. Then the bus I was on was having even more problems. Thanks to another train having to wait for freight, the connecting bus I took home had to wait in my town for an HOUR before they could leave. At least they gave everyone $10 for lunch, though.

Mom called while I was en route. "So, what did you do this weekend? Talk about taxes again?" Boy, is she pissed at Dave for bringing that one up, i.e. "You would never have asked about this if he hadn't brought it up." Man, it almost smacked of "I would have gotten away with it too, if it hadn't been for you kids!"

She actually deigned to elaborate a bit more on the mysterious money fund. "It was for your schooling, we used it to pay for that." Why didn't they take it out of my name once I was done with school? "Because it hasn't matured yet. We'll take it out in another month." Well, okay, I guess. And as for the taxes... the general attitude was "Well, you benefited from that money, we paid $30,000-40,000 for your schooling," i.e. "As far as we're concerned, it's what YOU owe for school, and we are not going to help you out about it." She then proceeded to bitch at me for not saving my money to pay my phenomenal taxes and got on me for wasting money going to Dave's.

*growl*

I was in shock.

Hill is really getting on me to just take the money out and put it in my own account. I still don't think that's right, but her attitude there rather frightened me.

Oh yeah, and she also was like "Well, what did you EXPECT that you have no credit record?", which led into a discussion as to how they never taught me about credit, and they thought that giving me Dad's credit card with a $500 limit for college was "teaching" me. Uh, not quite.

She said "Call me if you want to later." I didn't.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com