Chaos Attraction

New Technology

2006-03-18, 10:36 p.m.

So, my beloved Palm died last week, leaving me frustrated and having to resort to getting a Hipster PDA in the meantime. This was rather irritating, considering how easy it is to lose one of the papers you've made your notes on. God knows I think I lost at least a third of the notes I had to write down all week, not to mention losing the spring break gym class schedule. Plus I had to decipher my own handwriting.

I couldn't stand it. I had to get another Palm. Even if I couldn't bloody get one with a keyboard any more (the Tungsten C apparently isn't sold by anyone any longer), I'd just have to suck it up and deal with writing in Graffiti again.

So on Saturday I sucked it up and got a new Palm. The E2 model, which the people at Office Max told me was very popular (and apparently doesn't break the way the $100 model does).

It's definitely a weird experience. And I don't just mean having to write slowly in handwriting again on the machine (oh, the joys of trying to get it to write one letter when it thinks you're writing another).

For one thing, it's in COLOR. I'm used to black and white. Which has an advantage in that anyone who say, looks over at your screen while you're browsing through the Palm at work, can't really see what you're doing. Now, people are going to be able to tell from across the room in a meeting if I'm playing solitaire. Aiee.

For another thing, it's got tons of shit. I can stick photos and mp3's on it, but I'm not sure why I'd want to when there's iPods for that. Nor can I be arsed to figure out what Bluetooth is and what I could be doing with it. I guess it's nice to have the option?

It's still got Documents to Go (something I found useful back in the days when I tried to write NaNo novels on the Palm), but now you can just swap your files around and edit them directly. I've got a fat spreadsheet in there now of my workouts, but I can actually view the whole thing and edit it. Ditto the novel and any other reading material. Graffiti isn't quite the pain in the arse that it used to be, surprisingly. There's probably more stuff on there I haven't even found yet.

I suppose I will get used to it.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com