Chaos Attraction

That Time Of Year Again

2007-03-27, 10:18 a.m.

I hate making commitments more than 3 months in advance. I feel like lightning will strike me down.

Every year, I get depressed at being asked to commit for the next year to my apartment, six months before the lease even starts. This year, they're doubling the rent increase (I knew something like that had to happen when they didn't send out the notices around March 1, but said people were going to be doing some appraising. Sheesh, the place isn't worth that much). Okay, so it's not a MAJOR raise still, and I knew the rent was going to go over a certain milestone number as of next year anyway, but it's still annoying. I will probably suck it up, though. (Plus I have acquired so much fucking furniture I don't even think I could fit it all into a 1-bedroom.)

I still don't want to uproot myself and move, as I whined about yesterday. I am still not all "yippie!" about the idea of uprooting myself and spending spring and summer worrying and stressing about moving. When I used to move twice a year (my first three years in this town), it wasn't by my own choice and I wasn't happy about it. I just don't want to go through all that unless it's a major improvement (as opposed to moving due to management issues or timing out of a place or having all of my other roommates wanting to move out) and it's something I WANT, not something forced upon me.

But the double rent increase is making me think that in a year or two or three, if I don't get more raises at work (unlikely), I may be forced to move out of sheer affordability. Or get a roommate again, but I'm "aging out" of being able to find one in this town repeatedly by now.

Ughhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com