Chaos Attraction

Reprieve and Birthdays

2008-04-18, 9:25 a.m.

False alarm(?)

I have had it confirmed with a CC manager that they are not dumping the old non-student volunteers. They were forced to phrase their notification in a certain way, but anyone who's already in gets the same priority for shift-picking as they always did. (The "new student priority" thing only applies to new volunteers.)

Staff cutting is still going on, but I will probably be fine for the summer, at least. Am wondering if I still need to come up with some kind of instructor backup plan, but I feel better now.


In other news, Picnic Day is tomorrow, and Mom and Mauricio are showing up for it sometime today (they both have off work). As you might imagine, I think it's weird at best that a MARRIED MAN is hauling off for the weekend to go elsewhere, but clearly I'm the only one who cares about that :P They are theoretically showing up while I'm still at work so they can start annoying me by assembling furniture, but given that Mom called me at 7:30 this morning saying she didn't go to bed until 3 a.m. for no good reason, I don't think they're making it here before I get home. Sheesh.

I will also be dragged around to pick out my birthday gifts tonight, because figuring out the concept of "Surprise me" has long since bypassed Mom and she didn't get her shit together to order off Amazon this time. Honestly, I'd like to NOT already know what I'm getting days/weeks before the holiday. But she is just SO STUMPED AND CONFUSED at anything I tell her. How hard is it to, say, find a watch that fits my wrist and looks cute and surprise me? It's not like she has bad taste in jewelry or anything, but *gasp* she just can't handle that! Argh.

Oh well, at least I've got birthday gifts for the people who have birthdays on Sunday all made, and have at least one gift for Mom, so that isn't bad on MY end. And the people on my volunteer shift said they'd bring me good food for my birthday work shift, so that's all good.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com