Chaos Attraction

May Is The Worst Time Of The Year?

2012-05-23, 9:10 p.m.

There's a column in the campus newspaper that I've been enjoying recently. The kid already graduated awhile back(?) but somehow has been allowed to do a column long distance...from LA. So most of the time he writes about LA and I take notes.

This week, he said that "May is the worst time of the year." He said it was because school is ending, all the TV shows are ending, and this year he got a new job.

"For as long as I can remember, my life devolves into tears, implodes with drama and includes devastating, life-altering changes. Or, I�m being dramatic and it�s all made up in my head and blown out of proportion � but I�m pretty sure it�s still happening."

You know, all things considered, he has a point.

Now normally I think May seems like a pretty good month. Other than the mama drama portion of the season, there's festivals all over. The weather is generally lovely. What's not to think is awesome? It's spring, y'all!

Well, this month has felt particularly full...and kinda devolving into crazy. I gave up on having a 2012 Year Of Crazy checklist after nothing much was happening, but if I did a list of May activities along those lines, there's been solo drives and a rental car, the usual Mother's Day/Whole Earth stuff, seeing Rent, This American Life Live and a freaking eclipse...and the month's not even over yet, with plays of The Compleat Works of William Shakespeare, Abridged and The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee this weekend, and a trip to the Treasure Island Flea Market. And then after that, I start doing double duty at work. And the month still isn't over until next Friday.

DEAR GOD, IT IS BUSY.

Work in particular has been insane. Alas, I cannot tell the entire story on the Internet, but those who have heard it from me thought it sounded Sedaris-esque. Oh well, maybe in a few years I can say it. I'll just leave it at "there was drama and a surprise quitting." I am so not used to feeling zooey at work any more--way back in the day when I was a reporter, this wasn't unexpected, but I'm out of practice in dealing with sudden crises budding up.

Oh yeah, and my friend Jackie's house got robbed. 2012 is so far not a good year for her.

Anyway, today I was so tired that I went home and took a nap, and I'm writing this entry while trying to keep myself awake enough to watch the Revenge finale. I haven't been able to go to bed early in ages and when I do, I wake up at 5 a.m. in a panic.

*sigh* Seriously, someone better let me sleep this holiday weekend, 'cause I am not going to be able to take a sick day to sleep in any time soon.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com