Chaos Attraction

Memory Lane

2009-07-10, 3:32 p.m.

So I have been typing up my old articles for putting into an online portfolio (don't bother looking, all I've done so far is the typing, not posting, and I haven't decided how/where to park a portfolio yet). Once again I have had to revisit Memory Lane, something I haven't previously enjoyed doing.

But right now I am kind of enjoying it. It's weird to be reading articles from 2000-2001 (note: later ones being when previous recession was going on!) and my brain thinks, "Oh, weren't those the good old days, when everything wasn't so stressful." WTF, brain? I just watched the Penn and Teller: Bullshit! episode on "The Good Old Days" and boy, am I being all nostalgic for the end of 2001, which was not a good time for anybody. What the heck? But it's weird to be typing up an article involving the college and finding lines about what to do about making sure that department had its ass covered when budget cuts came. I can't help but wonder seven years later how that worked out for them.

But the really memorable one was typing up my interview with one of the discoverers of the Hale-Bopp comet, which is my favorite article ever even though I think I mostly just transcribed what he said. The guy's done a lot of interviews and he made a point of making them still be interesting.

The thing that sticks out to me NOW reading it years later is how he said that he realized that telling kids about finding the comet, and inspiring them, was what he wanted to do with the rest of his life, and thus he went around traveling and doing that. How awesome is that, that something big (or small, if you think about it) changed his life like that.

Also makes me think, "Wah, I want something like that! I wanna epiphany!" I was sitting under a tree while it dropped stuff on my head yesterday and gee, it seems so simple when nuts are falling on your head, to ask for that.



In other news, the first night of sewing class went great. Everyone showed up, which is a big plus. Everyone learned how to thread the machines after lots of practice. I eventually (after doing this on many students' machines) figured out the best way to get a bobbin threaded. I didn't have to worry too much about having a first night project because the newbies mostly practiced threading and the two with experience made up their own little projects. Huzzah. Next week, those in attendance will start making pants.

I'm glad that went well and was fun, even.


Still not NaNo'ing. Instead, am knitting and making more stuff out of T-shirts. Made a cute sorta-dress last night. And hanging around in the arboretum a lot. And deliberately ignoring the usual "doom n' gloom, we don't know what's going on but we're pretending we're informing you anyway" talks around here. It helps me feel better.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com