Chaos Attraction

Belting It

2006-09-04, 3:04 p.m.

And yesterday we went to the Scottish Games.

Oddly enough, we hardly even watched anything Scottish, just went through the booths buying up jewelry. And when I say "we," I mostly mean Mom, because DUDE, she got a ton. I sort of got the impression she felt guilty that I bought her stuff the last time we went to the Scottish Games, don't ask me why.

I also finally got a belt for my Utilikilt, since I have learned from my custom order experience that they seem to bugger up how orders go out. As it turns out, now they aren't taking new orders, so it's a good thing I already got mine, I suppose. Also because the friendly bloke I talked to last time wasn't there, and less friendly, or just more stressed, guys were there instead. I also showed up at the end of the day, so that could have had something to do with it too.


Another day, another hospital visit. I think I've mentioned that Dad has a roommate who's my age now, and he and Mom are all coo-ey over each other. The last time I was there he was asleep, but alas, he was awake this time, with his mom visiting.

And oh my lord. I think my mom is Perky McPerfectPants when it comes to how one is supposed to behave around a sick person, but this dude's mother took the cake. She was absolutely twittering about how today was the best day ever, how she couldn't wait for him to get home so she could take care of him (Mom was all, "He told me he has an apartment."), chirp chirp I just LOVE this experience!!!! Meanwhile, I'm being my usual shitty self and hiding in the corner hoping Mom doesn't make me go introduce myself to the guy, because I can't understand anything he's saying.

I was annoyed at the SuperMom twittering because I'm a cynical bitch, but even besides that, she was just sounding like SUCH the perfect patient's mother, I was thinking, "How do you pull that off? Aren't you ever like, not perfect about this?"

Later, Mom told me she was just as annoyed and said, "I think she was on drugs."

Well. Okay then.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com