Chaos Attraction

Before I Left The O.C....

2005-09-24, 3:15 p.m.

We did some more shopping, over at The Block At Orange. (Or at least, that's what I think it's called.) Drove through "Little Saigon," which was different. At TBAO, I was overjoyed to find a Hilo Hattie's, so I stocked the hell up on psuedo-Hawaiian merchandise. I adore their flower clips, and I got a lei and macadamia nuts for Mom. I also stocked the hell up on Hawaiian flower jewelry.

And I also got a silly thing- a Hello Kitty stuffed animal. It's actually a TAN HK, as seen on the bobblehead here, though the one I got isn't pictured. It was just so cute.

As I was getting my stuff rung up, I made a comment to Jess along the lines of, "I miss Hawaii." The salesguy promptly said, "I have not missed Hawaii since I left it." Then I felt like a mortified (god forbid) tourist. God forbid I say anything nice about the state, my GOD! Then again, what's he doing working in Hilo Hattie's if he hates Hawaii, anyway? WTF is up with that?

Anyway, did some more shopping, stuff like that, blah blah blah... and when we got back, I stupidly left my Hello Kitty alone on the bed. We went out to eat, and when I returned... I found that the dog ate Hello Kitty's nose off. "She probably thought it was a jelly bean." So we ended up going back to Hilo Hattie's to get a replacement, who then got hidden from the dog. The original will stay with Jess and get her nose replaced by something less-Jelly-Belly resembling.

We also went to the beach for awhile, which was quite pretty. I didn't exactly go swimming in the ocean (the waves were huge), but it was fun. I picked up a ton of shells and made a little sand terrarium to keep on my desk at work. It's kind of funny that I always have these fantasies about lounging around in a bikini reading trashy novels at the beach, and on the rare occasions when I'm at a beach, I never actually DO that. Hell, I don't even really swim at the beach, I just wade around and look for stuff.

And oddly enough, we ended up right next to the school's soccer team, who was also hanging out on the beach. Somebody's mother knew someone in my office, as it turned out. Naturally, they looked right through me when I got introduced to them ("ew, nerd, must move away"), but what do you expect from jockboys, I guess. Oh well, there was still some scenic 20-year-old meat to view, I suppose...

And eventually... I had to go home. Wah.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com