Chaos Attraction

A Wee Bit of Hypocrisy

2005-10-07, 4:45 p.m.

Yeah, this is a short entry, but this is bugging me:

I got brought up from a young age that I was NOT ALLOWED to invite non-family/outsiders to family holiday gatherings. No friends, no boyfriends, no fiances. And for that matter, Mom always got a little cranky about my aunts inviting the occasional outsider to their family gatherings.

So isn't it kinda hypocritical that now she's all foaming-at-the-mouth excited to host Thanksgiving dinner specifically so she can invite Mauricio and his girlfriend?

Aunt Susie's response to Mom was that maybe it should be her turn to host Thanksgiving this year since we haven't done it since Dad got in the wheelchair, and Mom was all thrilled to do it.

When we used to host holiday meals, Mom would spend the entire day screaming at me that I wasn't helping her right/enough. I'm one of the few people in the world who HATES spending a holiday at home. I LIKE going to Aunt Susie's for the four-day weekend and vegging out. That's what makes going to her place for Christmas and Easter fun.

Now with the hosting-at-home being a definite, I've got yet another reason to dread the holidays: screaming ahoy!


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com