Chaos Attraction

Driving Again

2010-10-21, 9:18 a.m.

Oddly enough, the only thing in my life going really well right now (other than my sculpture class, which is awesome, but that's eventually for the craft blog) is driving. GO FIGURE.

After starting up lessons again three weeks ago, I was surprised to see that I just slipped into it as well as I did. Didn't freak out, remembered how to do everything (no "How do I shift gears again?" type questions), was totally chill about it. Hell, I even DROVE TO SAC IN RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC the other day. Seriously! Did not wig out! And actually kind of enjoyed having an excuse to go slow on the freeway, hah. Now, god knows I have no effing idea how to navigate on the freeway at the moment--and someday I'm gonna have to learn at what point I need to start switching lanes to get near enough to the upcoming exit lane to get out in time instead of having Elsa tell me-- but I didn't hit anything and we're all still alive! Huzzah!

I have also booked another driving test for December. (Oh, btw, it is so backed up there now it took a week to get to be able to make that appointment. Holy shit. I thought the system was busted for days because I could have only gotten appointments in Northern California.) I'm not going to get my hopes up about it, especially since it's going to be in full on rainy season time. My goal for it is to not get auto-failed within the first 20 seconds or so of the test. Let's make it to 30 seconds this time! And after that, I'm already plotting out when to take the next two tests before the permit runs out. Probably one in winter and one in spring, which I'll try to time in between lessons so I don't waste lesson time when I have to retake the written again. Hopefully I can make it longer through each test before I hit the auto-fail, eh?

Yes, I'm getting yelled at for Not Thinking Positively That I Will Pass This Time, but frankly, I'd rather think realistically then get my hopes up and end up crying for hours afterwards again (and again and again and again). This has already been an extremely long process to get to this point, and it's not going to get any shorter, and I need to just accept that dealing with the DMV over and over and over is just going to be a part of my life for the next year or even two. Eventually I'll do it, but it's probably not gonna be before 2011. (Or even 2012.) So it's... just gonna be a thing that I do from time to time.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com