Chaos Attraction

Welcome to Night Vale

2015-11-02, 9:14 p.m.

I just wanted to say that I have now attended a live showing of Welcome to Night Vale, and it was cool beans.

(Note: the rest of this entry will not make any sense if you don't listen to the WTNV podcast, so if you don't, you might as well stop reading now. Also contains a bit of spoilers for the current traveling show, if that bothers fans.)

While I won't go into the plot much since it will eventually be released in podcast form anyway, I will say that "The Investigators" features murder mystery dinner theater and Carlos being so psyched about it that the Sheriff's Secret Police disinvite him. Presumably for the ah, accents he does. Let's just say my biggest laugh of the night was the PRE-EMPTIVE one before he started up again...

Eliza Rickman, once and future "weather," did some songs, I did not realize she uses stuff like xylophones(?), handbells(?), a ukulele, an autoharp(?), and at one point, just stomping her foot to make music. Okay, so clearly I'm guessing on the instruments.

I loved how people dressed up for this. I spotted two Faceless Old Women, a Carlos, and two Eternal Scouts, as well as some logo shirts. I wore my Desert Bluffs skirt, which finally got some love from people who knew to appreciate it! ("We're seamstresses, we know how it goes," two ladies in the elevator said.) I love shows where people dress up, for that matter.


Though this one did remind me of a conversation I had at work with some Doctor Who fans about what to wear from that show canon. I've occasionally gone to a few things and kind of wish I had an outfit, but I don't have one and don't know what I'd do. I don't resemble any of the characters, I'm not going to do anything involving a mask or heavy makeup, and freaking everyone who isn't doing one of those does a TARDIS or a Dalek, and I cannot trump some of the TARDIS dresses that have been done already. So what the hell would I wear? (No, not the scarf. It's in natural dull colors.) I made an Adipose toy once (my favorite Who creature), but that's not really something you can dress up in without looking more like the Stay Puft Marshmallow man.

I guess I'll have to wait for the show to create something I can dress up in.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com