Chaos Attraction

I Hate Everyone This Month

2011-11-17, 10:03 a.m.

If I was able to blog about work without getting in trouble, I would be doing so today. Alas, in this world, one must be utterly paranoid and stick to posting in places where people must log in and see things friend-locked, Just In Case. So I will just say that this e-card is rather relevant for me for the last few days, and leave it at that.

Also, I am attempting to do nice stuff for Merry's birthday today and I suspect most or all of it is going to get foiled. GRUMBLE.


In other news, I am being forced by the relatives to do a Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving. I am the only one who does not think that getting up at the ass crack of dawn ON A DAY OFF to walk in the cold (which I do every day on a work day anyway and honestly, in winter it ain't a blast and I am waddling about like the Pillsbury Doughboy in too many layers) and paying money to do it, with 4000 people, is SUPER FUN TIMES. I said this. I said I'd rather pay the money to uh, not go. I would much rather snuggle in bed and actually sleep and then just go watch the parade already.

I was told that This Would Be A Massive Problem if I did not do it. It was an offer I was not allowed to refuse. Plus there's the usual "family" and "charity" arguments of guilt thrown in.

Also, I then got forced to pay for it AND Mom's too because "my computer won't let me." I don't care about paying for stuff we both want to do, but I am being forced to do this and so it smarts like hell.

Oh, and I found out AFTER paying that I must show up in person to "pick up my packet" between 12 p.m. and 8 p.m. Wednesday night. (So much for online registration.) Which of course I can totally do with my car and all..oh, wait. And since Mom made me buy the fucking tickets, that means I and my ID have to be the one who shows up in person to deal with this stupid fucking thing. Which I do not want to do in the first place. Anyone have any idea how that's going to happen? 'Cause I don't.

There is nothing quite like (a) being forced to do shit you don't want to do, followed by (b) being forced to pay for the thing you don't want to do, and then (c) suddenly it becomes a massive damn hassle for me personally/alone to make the fucking arrangements FOR SOMETHING I DON'T WANT TO DO.

You know what? Next year in LA, I look forward to being all "I can't afford to go home for Thanksgiving," and spending the holiday utterly alone in bed, watching TV and eating Cup of Noodles for dinner. It sounds peaceful and nice.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com