Chaos Attraction

What I'm Thankful For

2005-11-22, 9:03 a.m.

I kind of hate Thanksgiving. Well, I like the days off, and the three days of shopping, and I heart Thanksgiving when we're at my nice aunt's house, but... for reasons that are perhaps obvious, I don't feel happy sappy warm fuzzy feelings about the day.

It's the time of year where everyone else is sappy about turkey, and I don't get it. Call me crazy, but actual off-the-bird Thanksgiving or Christmas turkey just does not taste that good or have any flavor to it whatsoever. Or maybe that's just how my relatives cook it. Thank gawd for stuffing and cranberry relish, that's all I have to say.

(Incidentally, Mom has finally clued in to the fact that uh, maybe you shouldn't start your turkey shopping three days before the day you have people over. I'm rooting for her not being able to find any and we have to have ham for Thanksgiving.)

Or they're sappy about pumpkin or apple pie, neither of which I am too fond of either. I don't get the appeal of mushy.

And then there's the inevitable making everyone spout off a sappy list of what they are thankful for this year.

Fine. Here's mine.

Things in my life right now that don't suck:
1. DVD-watching.
2. Crafts.
3. CC gang.
4. Living alone is nice and peaceful.
5. My bed.
6. My bird chair.
7. Jess.
8. Not having screaming fights with Mom so much any more.
9. Managing to pay bills without a roommate.
10. Mom buying me lots of crap.
11. My boss.
12. My job.
13. Not being paralyzed from the neck down or having some horrible disease.

There ya go. That's it. That's all I could come up with. Don't you feel all warm and sappy now?


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com