Chaos Attraction

Book Shopping

2010-12-12, 9:23 p.m.

I just got back from Nevada City, which was fun. And surprisingly warm. Last year when I went it was snowy and rainy, this year it was sunny and in the 60's and I ran around in only one layer and no coat. Global warming is weird stuff, man.

I think I also spent the least amount in that town than I ever have, mostly because (a) the craft booth selection was well, either I already owned it or wasn't that into it, and (b) I did breeze through most of town 2 weeks ago. I bought more books because that town is great for book shopping, and that was it.

I'll attempt pics uh.... later. I haven't been in the mood to slog through GIMP for months though, so who knows.

Oh, and in the ereader debate: Mauricio (for those who don't know, he's a friend of the family that got adopted around the time Dad went into the hospital years ago. I call him Mom's pseudo-boyfriend because well, that's as close as I can get to explaining that dynamic, even though they aren't romantically involved and aren't gonna be) called me to say that he wanted to get Mom the ereader. I was all "oh, whatever, it's your money, even if she's not gonna use it and you're usually broke."

I did give Mom a Talking To about how an iTouch works and how she can just read books on THAT plus do other things, so then I called him back and said, "if you must buy her a gadget, get one of those." We'll see.
I can't get her to ask for anything BUT an e-reader (she wants me to give Mauricio half of the money for it, but uh.... I am still not thrilled with that idea), alas. I got her a book this weekend, at least.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com