Chaos Attraction

Breath Of Heaven (Mary's Song)

2003-12-21, 6:13 p.m.

Now after reading all of these entries about really screwed up, twisted, frightening songs, I bet you're wondering, "Doesn't she like any STRAIGHT Christmas songs? Songs about the actual holiday? Songs about tradition, about the baby Jeebus? Or is she just a sicko?"

Well, anyone who's read this journal for awhile knows the answer to the last question is a straight yes, but for the rest... yes, I generally like most Christmas songs. It's just that after hearing them for so many times in a row for so many years, I've gotten bored and jaded. Hence why I go for The Crazy.

But there is one straight new Christmas song that I really do like. I heard it years ago back when my musical taste was even nerdier and dorkier than it is now, and thought it was gorgeous. I was taking up modern dance around then, I think, because I remember trying to make up dances to the song. I still think it'd make a great piece, if one could exactly dance while extremely pregnant, and having a skinny dancer just wouldn't work given the subject matter.

What is it, you ask? Breath of Heaven (Mary's Song), by Amy Grant. Yes, I know Amy Grant is the height of uncool, but then again, so am I.

And I really like her take on the subject matter. It's not something you hear very much, how Mary might have felt about the whole thing, being cold and scared and becoming a mother of the world's biggest deal of a child at a young age when she wasn't expecting to so soon, being touched by God, what have you. Freaking scary burden, even beyond (ahem) what's covered in South Park.

Is she alone in dealing with the burden? Why is it hers in the first place? Couldn't it have been someone else's? Why her? What is she going to do? Hope for help...

I'm not a religious person, and don't particularly care one way or the other about Christianity at this point. (God having a son, fine. God having a son and the son being God at the same time? My head really hurts now.) But this song almost makes me spiritual in That Way.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com