Chaos Attraction

Wet Victorian Christmas

2008-12-21, 10:45 p.m.


Last year's Victorian Christmas was a pretty big deal. This year, on the other hand, it rained all day long. So, ah, it wasn't so big or busy. I gather last week it snowed during the thing, so while this wasn't considered as bad, there still weren't a lot of vendors/participants attending. Which is reasonable, I guess. Because clearly only insane people spend all day running around outdoors in that much wet.

Not so many Santa sightings this year either:

Speaking as a beader, I thought this sign was hilarious.

Their record is 17 days, btw.

Oh, one thing I saw this year (other than rain and snow!) that I didn't see last year. Look, open fire...

and...chestnuts roasting on it!

Roasted chestnuts, btw, are...really weird. They don't taste like crunchy nut...I don't know how to describe it. Not particularly tasty, just an odd substance. Well, the more you know, I guess.

Anyhoo, it was pretty crazy to go running around on a soddenly wet day the way we did, but at least nobody's car crashed and that's the important thing. Also, the shopping.

In other news, I am down to only four presents to get knitted/crocheted by the 24th/25th. Uh...is that good? I found out oh, Saturday midday or so that I'd have to have the cousins's gifts done by Sunday night, so a lot of the time I was knitting hats. Till 2 a.m., whee. Well, at least they got done in time (the last one 2 hours before it had to be done), even if I don't think the recipients will like 'em too much.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com