Chaos Attraction

Grrrrrr.

2002-12-23, 3:47 p.m.

My day started out pretty well. Found out that no, we're not going to my aunt's until tomorrow afternoonish. They are going to see The Two Towers again and asked me to go, which I declined. Can't sit through three hours again.

Went shopping and did lunch with Hill, bought a book I was looking for and bought myself an opal necklace- I shouldn't have, but dammit, I'd been drooling over the gorgeous opals in this one store for days.

In short, I was in a pretty good mood until I heard from Dave.

That job he got? Is a scam. A biiiiig scam. It was supposed to be selling perfume to stores? It's not. Turns out what it really is is door to door, hit up your family, give us money first, win the contests, practically no furniture in the office after six months of operation, set-off-every-damn-SCAM-alert-button-in-me crap. He called while we were in the car to tell me how the first day went, and I was fucking speechless.

I did the predictable Google search on the company name and well... when the "testimonials" page features lots of testimonials from (a) people who can't spell or capitalize, (b) people who are 18-19 years old and claim to be making shitloads, and (c) people who have been working there for under a month, you know something's wrong.

And of course, everything else I came up with searchwise, well... the Better Business Bureau said they had no complaints about the company, but "make sure you get all promises put in writing." The business trips? Yeah, you pay for those while you try to sell in other towns. You get flagged by the IRS if you're there. Etc., etc.

Dave wasn't thrilled to hear this (and boy, was I not thrilled to tell him), but said he'd been getting that vibe too. Especially when they told him they'd "hold on to" the money for him until "graduation" and would just give him whatever he needed to pay bills. Uh-HUH.

Naturally, he feels like an idiot, I wish I hadn't told people he was employed (god, Mom's reaction...), and all is pissy right now. Merry fucking Christmas.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com