Chaos Attraction

Back in Blonde

2005-12-27, 12:38 a.m.

On Tuesday, I got my hair redyed and cut. Which it desperately needed. (I'd post a pic if I could get my laptop online...but that's not going to happen.) It's now back to mid-shoulder or so, in hopes that it will be naturally curly again when washed.

I told my hairdresser that I wanted to go back to being blonde all over again, and she said, "I can't do that, because we'd have to bleach your hair and ruin it." I was all, fuck, dying my hair brownish has now made it so dark it needs bleaching?! Aiee! It's not even a dark brown any more! If I'd have known that I wouldn't have gone for that in the first place. (Fear of bleach is why I've never gone for black hair, even though it looks good on me in a wig.) But she said she could put so many blonde highlights all over the place that it would look overall blonde... and it worked! It's very blonde and glamorous. Hooray! She is a genius and worth the wait, even if she only works 2 weekdays a week and getting an appointment with her is difficult.

Though I must admit it was slightly irritating to be in there for two hours and all anyone in the salon would talk about was babies, babies, babies, and nothing else but babies. *sigh* I don't have a whole lot to contribute to "OHMIGOD BABYEE SO KYOOT AT CHRISTMAS"-type discussions, so it was kind of awkward. Though at least noboby asked me about my future children, so it could have been worse.

After that, Mom and I went to lunch with my cousin-in-law Laurie for a private bitch session about how horrible the PITA's are, comparing stories and finding out what crap they are pulling on the other side. This was loads of fun, with lots of remarks along the lines of, "I'd like to know who appointed them lord high people above us all." Uncle Bruce is in a singing show every year (which Mom bailed out on attending), and he neglected to mention that Amanda was in it doing a duet. Mom and I were all, "If we'd known that we would have actually shown up."

She also gave us our Christmas gifts, and much to my surprise Mom was the one given the gift card to Barnes and Noble this time. I was uh, a bit shocked, but then was all, "Hey, we can shop at B&N together!"

After that, Mom got a call from Mauricio, who was sounding bored- I guess his girlfriend was working during the day and he was starting work late at night- so Mom invited him to come along with us while we did errands.

Mostly we did well...a massive spree at Target after Mom took stuff back, and used a gift card. I got some books, Mom got more books than I did, Mauricio got a few, Mom picked me up CD's to burn her some music, I got a CD, and some barbells... I figure given the crappy gym schedule I might as well get my own and work my arms at home already. Oh, and I got an electric blue purse with tons of pockets. Whee! We also hit the massive sale of a store going out of business, and Mom got some pants and I got a pair of pants, a sweater, and two jackets.

We dropped Mauricio off and did the usual Dad visit, which...yeah, same old suck. I did start doing knitting again while I was there though. I'd figured that after a week of sore arms I'd have to rest up for a full week before I could do stuff like that again, but after 2 days of not being home much, they were rested up. So I started work on a velvety scarf for myself. We'll see how it goes.

In the next few days, Wednesday and Thursday are probably going to be "errand days" and then Friday we are going to Carmel and Monterey, and to SF on Saturday. Since it's supposed to be pouring an avalanche of rain on Friday and Saturday, I doubt we'll do much beyond drive around and/or go to the aquarium, but it's not like we can wait the storms out before doing vacation-y type stuff.



previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com