Chaos Attraction

New Year's Meme

2005-12-28, 12:29 p.m.

Today pretty much amounted to (a) sleep, (b) lounge around, (c) go to the hospital, (d) use up a gift certificate. Tomorrow will probably be the same. So I'll just post answers to that meme that's going around, and if nothing significant happens tomorrow, I'll post the annual NYR entry.


1. What did you do in 2005 that you'd never done before?

Took up enameling. Took up dollmaking. Did frit painting. And probably other crafts, I just can't recall right now.

2. Did you keep your New Year's resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

Mostly.

(a) Clean up the apartment: Did it. Unpacked all the goods, the place no longer smells, etc. Yeehaw.

(b) Do more meditation: This was kept up for several months, but due to um....weird things happening when I was meditating, I quit. You really don't want me to elaborate on that one.

(c) Go to the gym: I did splendidly on this one, except for during November.

(d) Go see the local psychic: Didn't do that at all. Did consult with a (at the time free) online one, who said that cherries would be significant to me and I was going to fall in love and move to the country. Yeah, good thing I didn't pay for that.

As for the unofficial no-dating policy... I dated no one in 2005, wasn't even asked out, and the few fellows that liked me during the year got over it real fucking fast.

All things considered, I consider this my best NYR-accomplishing year ever. 3 outta 5 ain't bad!

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Nope.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
Depends on how you define "close." I had a cousin-in-law and great-aunt die.

5. What countries did you visit?
None. Can't leave the country anyway.

6. What would you like to have in 2006 which you lacked in 2005?

(a) The end to my long life nightmare...well, you know what I mean.
(b) The people around me to act sane and reasonable.
(c) Folks around that are worthy of the attention that I give them, or at least won't fucking FLAKE all the damned time.

7. What date from 2005 will remain etched in your memory, and why?

My birthday, because of the whole eclipse thing (though the rest of it was utterly unmemorable).

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Getting the dang doll I've been working on made, making enameled pendants, making all of the plates for presents.

9. What was your biggest failure?

As usual, I am an arsehole towards my father.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

No.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

I dunno...yarn? Okay, probably some of the jewelry I got.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?

Mom's, for finally getting fed up with the PITA's, and stopping being a screaming shrew for the first time in years.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?

As usual, this honor goes to the PITA's. Honorable mentions go to my apartment management for being flakes, the crush that might have been for inexplicably turning into an ass, and someone who I should probably not mention the name of whom I know for a fact faked a pregnancy on a guy.

14. Where did most of your money go?

The first half of the year: towards books and clothes and crafts and spending because my life sucked.
The second half of the year: towards paying double rent.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Leaving northern California.

16. What song will always remind you of 2005?

"Dyslexic Heart", because I have gone all over the damned place emotionally.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you: Happier or sadder? Thinner or fatter? Richer or poorer?

Sadder, thinner, poorer. One out of three is...well, an improvement from the usual.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?

I always wish I'd gotten more done than I did. And I am sorry I went through the "don't wanna work out" phase.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?

Dealing with my family.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?

With the NICE relatives, thank you!

21. Did you fall in love in 2005?

Nope, not remotely, not even close. Expect to see the same answer in 2006.

23. How many one-night stands?

Same answer as 21.

24. What was your favourite TV program?

Veronica Mars, and Joan of Arcadia before it was canceled.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?

Yeah, but I can't mention the name. Let's just say I'm tired of being disappointed in people's behavior.

26. What was the best book you read?

Fictionwise: Haunted.

Nonfictionwise: Finding Your Own North Star.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Uh....I haven't even finished going through all of my new musical acquisitions yet.

28. What did you want and get?

I did get to go to southern California.

29. What did you want and not get?

Pretty much everything else.

30. What was your favorite film of this year?

Serenity!

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old did you turn?

Nothing at all, except for staying up till 3 a.m. to try to view the birthday eclipse. I turned 27.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
People NOT FLAKING OUT.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2005?
Stylish as usual.

34. What kept you sane?

I don't think I can be considered "sane."

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Same ones as every other year, though Nathan Fillion especially kept showing up in my dreams a lot.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?

Terri Schiavo.

37. Whom did you miss?

It's way too long and depressing to answer this question.

38. Who was the best new person you met?

People at the CC, in general. And the teachers at the gym are almost all fabulous.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2005:
It's (to some degree, anyway) okay to have horrible thoughts about someone dying.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

(found here.)

"The smell of hospitals in winter
And the feeling that it�s all a lot of oysters, but no pearls."


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com