Chaos Attraction

The Same Old Meme

2010-12-30, 8:34 a.m.

1. What did you do in 2010 that you'd never done before?

GOT A DAMN DRIVER'S LICENSE. Had my own art show. Went to Portland and finally got to shop at the world's most awesome bookstore.

2. Did you keep your new year's resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

Apparently, the only one I made was "stop spending money." Hah. No.

Will I make more? Yeah, but I'll put that in another entry.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Yes, my married friends here had kid #2... and well, mostly disappeared after, no surprise there.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No.

5. What countries did you visit?

None.

6. What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010?

More money would be nice. Unfortunately, this has to be answered with "a credit card."

7. What dates from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

December 2: passing the driver's test.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Driver's license. SIXTEEN YEARS, PEOPLE. Sixteen years of failing on this topic. That's half my life, yo. I actually got to the point of attempting the test right before my latest permit ran out, and failed within about 20 seconds. And then figured, "Okay, fine, this has taken forever anyway, it'll probably just KEEP taking forever, I should just assume I'll be taking this test over and over and over again." I saved all of the notes for the written permit tests (even though I literally took about two minutes to fill out the test last time), assuming I'd keep doing this over and over again.

Go figure that I will not be doing that!

9. What was your biggest failure?

Hm....well, I would have said flunking the first test.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Nope, let's hope this streak continues.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

*shrug* No one object stands out.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

Elsa, my driving instructor's, for sticking by my crazy ass.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

My former friends flaking out. Mom for the usual crazy.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Same stuff as always: crafts and books.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Passing the driver's test.

16. What song will always remind you of 2010?

"Bad Romance," probably. It's a song I don't like all that much (the beginning of it is really discordant do me) in the original version, but I have listened to the Glee version uh, many many many times.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a. happier or sadder

Happier about some things, sadder about others. Beats me, really.

b. thinner or fatter

Same.

c. richer or poorer?

Probably slightly poorer/the same.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?

Driving.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?

Angsting about work. Dealing with other people's drama.

20. How will you be spending/did you spend Christmas?

Spent it at my house, watching crappy Christmas movies, and went to SF for Italian dinner. A vast improvement over oh, the entire last decade of shitty Christmasses.

21. Did you fall in love in 2010?

YEAH, RIGHT. I really don't think I am capable of doing it ever again.

22. How many one-night stands?

YEAH, RIGHT.

23. What was your favorite TV program?

Glee. I don't care what y'all say.

24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?

Yes, unfortunately. Well, I don't know about "hate," but I am really mad about the friend group dissolving in general, and I am especially mad at those who I really didn't think would do such a thing. More fool I for believing in people, I guess. (I am cranky about this, since I had a dream about those people recently and man, it was depressing.)

25. What was the best book you read?

Okay, I'll link to every book over 4 stars on the booklog:

I Shall Wear Midnight, Feed, The Native Star, Last Night's Scandal, Only The Good Spy Young, I Know I Am But What Are You?, The Family Tree, Beyond Heaving Bosoms, Naamah's Kiss, The Spellmans Strike Again, Changes, Wild Ride, A Local Habitation.

26. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Janelle Monae.

27. What did you want and get?

Driver's license. My own show!

28. What did you want and not get?

More books and yarn?

29. What was your favorite film of this year?

Easy A and Tangled. How Do You Know and Scott Pilgrim were not too shabby either.

30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I went to the Scottish Games and turned 32.

31. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

My friend group not dissolving.

32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2010?

Tie-dye, or "giant walking color bomb." Same as usual.

33. What kept you sane?

I'm not sane.

34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

*sigh* I am over R.Pattz since he shut up and stopped dissing Twilight in public. Yawn. Now I am back to the same person as ever, who I won't say because I get tons of crap for this one. I do, however, find myself liking Matt Smith. Who empirically does not strike me as attractive, but definitely has that "adorkable" thing going on.

35. What political issue stirred you the most?

Gay marriage.

36. Who did you miss?

My friend group.

37. Who was the best new person you met?

Um... I have no idea on this one.

38. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010.

"Whatever you're expecting, expect a surprise?"

39. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

Put your foot down and drive...


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com