Chaos Attraction

The Last Same New Year's Meme?

2016-12-31, 11:04 p.m.

Should I really keep doing this meme when nothing much changes? Or should I do it because god only knows what will have happened between the “same old, more or less” of 2016 and the trumpocalype of 2017?

Anyway....
1. What did you do in 2016 that you’d never done before?
* Musical improv.
* Sketch writing.
* Downsized my apartment.
* Got obsessed with reading about presidents.
* Learned new aspects of my job at work because I got put in charge of everything by myself.
* Met Seanan McGuire, which was pretty damn cool.
* Playing The Transformation Game

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I didn’t bother last year.

This year’s resolutions are (a) job hunt more and (b) look into dealing with creepy privacy issues and taking measures that I should be doing but don’t want to. I bought a very depressing book on this that I didn’t want but should be doing, just by virtue of being female, plus well, other developments this year. (Also: anyone with a LiveJournal account probably needs to get rid of it right about now. Done.) Oh yeah, and (c) rehab my voice so it doesn’t make half the planet want to stab me dead every time I open my mouth.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Uh.... there’s another cousin of mine that had a baby, but since I haven’t met him, “close to you” isn’t a factor. A former coworker had a baby and quit.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
My great aunt died, and Lili the dog.

5. What countries did you visit? None, as usual.

6. What would you like to have in 2017 that you lacked in 2016?

Last year I said, “More money and a less stressful job where I don't serve the public. Also, a goal and a plan.” The same applies again because nothing changes.

Well, the don’t serve the public part of the job has been fixed, thank gawd. But otherwise...same.

Oh yeah, and for the people of the world to be sane enough not to elect the worst candidate ever, but that’s long gone.

7. What dates from 2016 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
The election. I’m sure you can figure out why.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Surviving the year. Seriously.

9. What was your biggest failure?

That no matter how much I tried to “turn over a new leaf” and be less of a horrible problem child at work, I continued to be a horrible problem child anyway. That most people straight up hate at this point. Hell, not even everything is my fault this year and ...yeah, not gonna get started.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
I had dental surgery.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
Books, probably. Same answer as usual.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
My friends have been lovely in the last month.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
People at work. Half of our country.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Car repairs and craft fairs, that doesn’t change.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Improv.

16. What song will always remind you of 2016?
This one.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder?
b) thinner or fatter?
c) richer or poorer?

I am the same in all regards. Nothing changes. Again.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Keeping my mouth shut at work. Same as usual. I also wish I’d had more fun and spent more time with Lili instead of having to spend most of my weekends moving crap out of my old apartment. I did as much as I could, but it kind of kills me I couldn’t do more.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Being myself, especially at work. Same answer as usual.

20. How did you spend Christmas?
At my friend Angelica’s, playing games.

21. Did you fall in love in 2016?
Nope, and I never will again. I am immune.

22. How many one-night stands? Yeah, RIGHT. Also, who actually answers this question?

23: What was your favorite TV program?
I don’t know if I have a favorite any more, really. Empire is not as much fun as it used to be, as are many of the shows I watch. Well, some are still doing pretty well, but I don’t have a specific favorite these days.

24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Yes, but I’d better not say who.

25. What was the best book you read?

5 star reviews: Illuminae and Gemina, The Geek Feminist Revolution, The Fixer, Poison Fruit, This Is How.

4.5 star reviews: Worst. President. Ever. (Though uh...great year to pick that title. Too soon, too soon.), Steadfast, The Long Game, Borderline, The Royal We, Cruel Beauty, American Lion, Hamilton: The Revolution.

New authors discovered this year that stood out: Chelsea Cain for the “Mockingbird” comics, gone too soon (I couldn’t even get a copy of the last one, wah), Mishell Baker, Rosamond Hodge.

26. What was your greatest musical discovery?
James Bay. I don’t think I can count “The Hamilton Mixtape” as a “discovery” under the circumstances.

27. What did you want and get?
A laptop and jewelry.

28. What did you want and not get?

Last year I wrote: “A goal, a plan, and a quieter, more lucrative job. Also, Hamilton tickets and a real vacation far away from here. I wanted to go see the Rose Parade floats live and in person this year (this is something that I could have done since for once I didn't have to work on January 2), but no dice. “ Same applies this year as well, though I’d add The Princess Diarist and a stuffed corgi to the list. Pat has an adorable princess-dressed royal corgi toy here I love, I asked for a corgi stuffie for Christmas and didn’t get it, so I finally managed to find it online and order it from England my own self. And I managed to get ahold of The Princess Diarist before it was totally gone from Costco. If you don’t do it yourself, people....

But hey, I did get to see a bootleg of Hamilton online! So there’s that!

29. What was your favorite film of this year?
I mentioned Zootopia and Deadpool on the journal this year, so I guess I’ll say those? I haven’t gotten around to seeing any of the movies I wanted to at the end of the year yet. The goal is to at least see Moana on the 31st.

30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? I turned 38 and went to the Scottish Games.

31. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

A more peaceful and lucrative job. This answer never changes.
OH, AND FOR HILLARY TO HAVE WON THE ELECTION.

32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2016?
Same as usual, though I did go through a period of mourning in the wardrobe after the election. I also started making more small toy octopi as jewelry because a crochet instructor at the CC is obsessed with them and she made 100 and they are adorable and I got the pattern from her and did some myself.

33. What kept you sane?
Alcohol and distraction. Same answer as ever.

34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
I have stopped fancying anyone and don't think I ever will again. Same as last year.
Well, okay, Laurie Hernandez was pretty damn cute and twinkly.

35. What political issue stirred you the most?
THE ELECTION.

36. Who did you miss?
Same people as usual. Meg moved away this year, but I did get to see her recently.

37. Who was the best new person you met?
Katie.

38. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2016:
Evil will always triumph because good is dumb.

39. Quote a song lyric that sums up your
year.

“Next year might be better, but I don’t see any proof.”


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com