Chaos Attraction

First Costume Night

2022-01-03, 5:49 p.m.

And now we're back to dating entries for the day things actually happened on, not writing about the previous day on a different date.

Back at work today...from home this week. So I don't have to go outside in the cold at 7:30 a.m. all week this week. Woke up too early but at least got to stay in bed until 7:45 and nobody has to go into the office if they aren't essential. Apparently testing at GiantOrg has long heinous lines today and they're saying it'll take 3 days to get results. By 10:30 I was already "in trouble," so that's a joy, and I kept finding out I made mistakes all the day long. But they claim to have enough staff for the phones this week because of no in-person shifts, so there's that...hopefully....? Anyway, as usual I felt stupid and wrong and wished for death, but at least I didn't have to do the phones and got through almost all of my 128(?) emails, and a good chunk of those I didn't actually have to deal with, so there's that. Hate being back, who doesn't.


Covid watch: Evan was back, with a new haircut (nice!) and seemed fine, huzzah. No one else sick. So far, anyway. I keep checking the Facebook page when I'm home to see if we have another announcement like we did on Camelot.

Rehearsal: first night of costumes, which isn't too fun for anyone, even though you do get to check out the outfits. Ulla has some very nice ones, some very cute dresses, and one ah, super slutty prison outfit. Isaiah has the best costume as one of the gay guys..."I never thought I'd say this, but Isaiah, tighter pants," said Steve, as Isaiah has a very padded crotch in "Keep It Gay" and then it basically ends up in Leo's face. My, my.

Um, Jean (costumes), um....could you please have mentioned that everyone has to have a black belt like, weeks ago instead of today? I know you've been out, but according to you you weren't ill and you could have mentioned it online a lot sooner than this. She thinks I have time to run out and shop now?! Okay, so fine, I ran to Target for a belt and more pantyhose (I ordered tights online but they aren't coming till Saturday at earliest, I ripped one pair already just today) before rehearsal, and ended up getting two belts because they came as a set and I bought the one pair that looked "manly." Then I got there and (a) the belt didn't quite fit in the loops of the pants and (b) "oh, Jean has plenty of belts!" SIGH.

Other wardrobe issues: Jean didn't like the pantyhose I put on (get over it, this is what you get after the nice ones already ripped, plus see Amazon comments above), hat fell off during Springtime for Hitler, the check disappeared out of my boobs (how!?). I got told that even though Kari and I have shorts on during the Bavarian number, them being dance/flesh colored, well...you have to get even more shorts, because the skirt is flipping up while twirling, plus there's the joys of having a dude peek up your skirt in public. (I note that my dance partner in this scene politely asked ahead of time if I was covered today.) SIGH.

Sherilyn was called out for apparently kicking her legs up and flashing (she's got a leotard on, she pointed out) during the point where we all fall down in "King of Broadway." She was all "I thought it was funny" and a few others, apparently, did not so much. I pointed out that Ulla flashes crotch as well--literally seeing that in "When You've Got It, Flaunt It," though that is also covered, and then they were all "but that's Ulla." Hmmmmmmm. Like, I wouldn't personally do it, mind you, but apparently I am now? FEH.

And I ALMOST pretty much made the worst quick change from the Bavarian outfit to the Nazi one--well, I had on pants/shirt/hat, the tie was not quite right but I was OUT OF TIME for that. I noticed that um, I don't think anyone else coming on at that time was lined up on time for that except for me, but somehow nobody brought that up? On the other hand, I did make the costume change between little old lady and prisoner because I could fit one outfit under the other one, so yay there. There are a lot of piles of quick changes around the backstage in certain numbers.

HEELS SUCK AND I HAVE THEM ON IN ALMOST EVERY SCENE and you're not supposed to be sitting much. Blech on this.

I do not have a microphone, Kari and Alexis don't either, so hey, at least it's not just me. Every time Kimmie makes another announcement about the mics (don't hairspray 'em, don't touch 'em, do not put it on yourself or take it off yourself, don't be wearing too many clothes when we put it on, assume they are on at all times) I am all whew, for once it's good to be a peon with literally no lines. Scott made a reference to a fountain (it's in the script) backstage while we were waiting around during "I Wanna Be A Producer" and I was all "ejaculation!" (we sing that word twice). If I'd had a mic on, DEFINITELY would have been sharing that with everyone. Admittedly, woulda been fine right now, but wait until show night :P I clearly can't be trusted.

Steve compulsively has to put the smoke machine into everything whether a show needs it or not, and unbeknownst to us, he started OVERSMOKING THE STAGE in "I Wanna Be A Producer." It was nasty, coughing fit level of TOO MUCH, DUDE. Also, why that scene? Why not the opening night of Springtime for Hitler, that would at least make sense/be a reason to cause an accident?

Jean (actress) and I did have fun going into the audience for watching "Betrayed" and asked to selfie with Max (note: literally he takes an intermission during the song to talk to the director, get a drink and selfie with someone), so that was a hoot.

The music last night was too fast, tonight was too slow. I presume Baby Bear wins tomorrow and it comes out just right :P

Reasons why I'm glad I don't have a microphone: Scott made a reference to a fountain (it's in the script) and I was all "ejaculation!" (we sing that word twice). If I'd had a mic on, DEFINITELY would have been sharing that with everyone. Admittedly, woulda been fine right now, but wait until show night :P I clearly can't be trusted.

Covid watch: Evan was back, with a new haircut (nice!) and seemed fine, huzzah. No one else sick. So far, anyway. I keep checking the Facebook page when I'm home to see if we have another announcement like we did on Camelot.

Sherilyn was called out for apparently kicking her legs up and flashing (she's got a leotard on, she pointed out) during the point where we all fall down in "King of Broadway." She was all "I thought it was funny" and a few others, apparently, did not so much. I pointed out that Ulla flashes crotch as well--literally seeing that in "When You've Got It, Flaunt It," and then they were all "but that's Ulla." Hmmmmmmm. Like, I wouldn't personally do it, mind you, but apparently I am now? FEH.

As for Scott, his dad came home yesterday afternoon during rehearsal, is doing fine, resting up watching a lot of Voyager. So we did talk a bit backstage and sat next to each other at the end.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com