Chaos Attraction

Return to the World

2016-01-04, 5:28 p.m.

"Kage Baker always thought the return to the world after New Year’s was much the hardest journey of the year.

You’ve just been through a long period of happy indulgence, family time, eating and drinking too much, sleeping in: whatever mild excess makes you happy, you’ve probably been doing it for the last fortnight."

Hear, hear.

It was my first day back at work, and sure 'nuff, it sucked. I had to be on the phones for most of the day, and had to do several "I need backup!" shifts (I had to cover the counter and phones at once), and of course got called on the carpet for not dealing with a Situation properly. I pointed out that it came up during lunch, when all of the people I should have contacted were gone, AND I immediately got called away to serve in public and no, they couldn't wait a second, and the best I got was to send a brief heads-up e-mail.

As usual, no matter what I do, I'm wrong. But it could have been a lot worse. Maybe I've been doing this job long enough that I don't run into as much trouble any more.

One shitty day down, four more to go, because first week is hell. Though the last four days can't be quite as bad.

Though on the good news side, I did finally get my Grandma Got Run Over By A Reindeer sweater in the mail! My apartment manager said it came in on Monday...so much for priority mail. Or December. But hey, I've got it, and at this point I'd lost hope, so there's that!


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com