Chaos Attraction

Of Course It Was Adolf

2022-01-06, 9:45 p.m.

Petty stuff:
* I ordered from Bona Fide Masks two Tuesdays ago, sent complaints, still haven't heard a damn thing. Ordered N95's from Honeywell and they shipped within 24 hours. Hmmmmmmmmmmm.
* Chia Pet update: I wasn't sure what the hell this thing was supposed to be doing, and other than the seeds looking kinda puffy, it wasn't doing much. The instructions said to put a plastic bag(!) over the plant for 2 days. Finally did that yesterday and this morning, it looks like the thing is finally sprouting?

Not petty: I texted Rae's mom that I'm bailing out of the trip in March. I admit I want to audition for Urinetown and I couldn't do both that and the trip, but also I've been freaking out at the idea of this trip for weeks, and what if anyone gets sick there and we have to pay for a hotel room for two weeks of isolation/quarantine, and what if/when the flight restrictions change, and blah blah blah...fuck it, I don't want to have to worry about it. She seemed fine with that, said their plans weren't set yet either.

Talked to Yemi during lunch--she gets to work from home forever--and she said, "Oh, I haven't been covid tested" (for work, anyway, I guess?) "since September." That boggled my mind. She's all "I don't have to come back until like, March sometime." And then a few hours later, it was announced that GiantOrg will continue remote operations until the end of January. Good job on that decision there--that's beating all the other giant orgs to the punch. They were all "we were hoping our award winning Covid system would mean we didn't have to do this, but....." so, yeah. I don't know if that means our office stays closed and I don't have to come in or not--fingers crossed that I don't, I hope. Would rather not, in general! No announcement from the office today about that, of course, I'd imagine there was some kind of management Zoom scramble going on this afternoon about it though.

Things I now wonder about: (a) Can I just not come into the office all month? (b) Can someone else do the mail? (c) If I don't have to go to GiantOrg all month, do I have to keep getting tested every 2 weeks? Or can I just skip unless I have good reason to be wondering?


Rehearsal: went pretty well last night, a few flubs, Sherilyn said her brain wasn't in it today. Also it was supposed to be Photography Night in which Steve photographed the show, and then the camera broke after the first two acts. Bummer.

The other night Kari brain farted and started changing out of her Bavarian costume early, but I managed to catch her doing it and stopped her. Alas, I wasn't close enough to catch Nate doing the same darned thing last night, so he went out in the Nazi costume. Oops :P At one point Danny (Leo) forgot his hat and it was on the other side of the stage, so as he was running to get it, Sherilyn had to wing it a bit to kill time and started asking the audience who their favorite character was. "You!" someone said, and she went "Aww!"

Also, the birds now have wings...well, most of them do, Adolf the bird ("of course it was Adolf," Jean said later) lost a wing DURING the scene. I gather Brian was putting them together. Later Kimmie had one of the birds in her lap during the show and I was totally distracted by it, hah hah.

A draft of the program was done, so people were checking it out before the show and seeing if their names were spelled right. Scott made a comment about changing his name to someone else's if he ever got married....I won't repeat my thoughts on this one :P Also, people's photos are now out in the lobby and in the program, so you could see other people's faces. "Oh, that's Evan, I was calling him Billy Bob," someone said. There were also comments about bios--Andi and I find it narcissistic/weird to write them, and Isaiah suggested one for Evan: "Evan has been to 6 rehearsals and hopes everything is all right." I didn't get to read that many of them, but the few I got to see were far more lively than mine. I was being businesslike, sigh.

Per Evan wearing a pink mask, now everyone on Roger's crew has to wear one in the scene. Other Jennifer brought in yellow masks for the showgirls, same logic. Kimmie: "Don't take them home and use them for pleasure." Me: "Woo!"

More of the set is done (see aforementioned birds), but the theater doors still say "Scrooge and Marley" and there's no show sign. I seriously wonder if they'll ever get to that. They did put up posters (I note from my copy of "The Producers: How We Did It," these are the posters in that book) of Max's previous shows.

* "Funny Boy" (the musical of Hamlet)
* "King Leer"
* "The Kidney Stone: A Hit Comedy With Maximum Impact"
* "This Too Shall Pass."
* "The Breaking Wind: The Biggest Release Ever!"
* "When Cousins Marry: Together For The Very First Time"

Sadly, the bodily function posters are not all on one wall together, missed opportunity there. They are, of course, white-painted on the other side.

Fun freakout moment: Other Jennifer, a dentist, saying that a guy came in with Covid, totally ignoring that he had symptoms and failed his symptom survey, because he had a bad tooth. It sounds like she didn't find this out until his mouth was open. She was all "get out of here!" Later she had her mask off for like 5 minutes and I kept wigging out in the corner and thinking "Look, she is RIGHT by the HEPA filter, there's at least that...."

We debated last night if Ulla is as dumb as she seems. Elizabeth and Sabrina (note: Sabrina plays Ulla, Elizabeth is her sister) apparently think she might just be putting on an act. At one point Sabrina says "Uh-oh" without the accent and she and Steve thought that might be a thing indicating she's not as dumb as she puts on.

Quotes from the evening:

Eddie on finding the spotlight: "So now I'm putting my butthole on it."

Steve on how we can wear whatever we want in the finale bow: "Isaiah can wear those pants and pick up guys after the show."

Me to Other Jennifer: "You might want to zip up your butt."

Me to Scott: "What are you going to wear for the bow?" (I was hoping he'd say the tux since we're next to each other in the bow and I want to wear my black sparkly dress.) Him: "Nazi." Me: "BWAHAHAHAHAH," because how can you not.

Nate continues to call Scott "extra" for remembering how long the overture is on iTunes. Nate: 'Three minutes, 12 seconds?" Me and Scott: "Three minutes and 48 seconds." Don't ask me why I remembered THAT.

I finished my book and about finished off the yarn I was working on during this one. On to other things tomorrow backstage, I guess.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com