Chaos Attraction

Show Sucked

2023-01-06, 2:16 p.m.

I'm in the office today. At least it ain't raining. However, as usual, everything is stupid. Which is to say, OldBoss went over to the mail office to pick up three packages and they straight up lost two of them, i.e. the ones that came during the third week of the month. I was pretty mad about this, but then NewBoss found them in a pile of other mail...I note that one of those packages was one of the ones that was lost and then reordered :P

Mail is stupid. Well, I've put all that stuff into the mail now. And two people had their ID'd returned from foreign countries that said "insufficient address."

I had yarn meetup with Yemi online during lunch, during which she said, "I don't think I told you the story of my bloody Christmas morning...." which is to say, she was cutting present wrappings with an Xacto and dropped it on her toe. She called her brother the doctor and he said it wasn't bad enough to worry about (i.e. not spurting, didn't have to be stitched), but "I never thought you could get so much blood that it looks like a crime scene," and said if anyone uses Luminol at her place, it's gonna look bad.

While discussing the current political shenanigans, she also said, "I like to blame things on Bakersfield" (where Kevin McCarthy is from). LOL.

In other news, I trained people successfully on a thing, did the meet n' greet with a new coworker who sounds sufficiently artsy that I was quite pleased to say "Oh, here's where you find all the crafts and theater" to, ordered stuff. It was busy but not obnoxiously so. Rather a pleasant day, actually.

Ashley called up to report more on last night's heart incident (yes, straight out of A Fabled Christmas), is glad she didn't hit the floor, and "gambling makes me feel better." She said a whole lotta chaos is coming up and I said yeah, that's the 2020's. At one point OldBoss said something about 2023 going like... Me: "The rest of the 2020's?" I have low expectations that 2023 will be less of a toilet than the rest of the decade, i.e. see Congress.


Show sucked, though. Steve started yelling at me during certain cues and throwing me off (dude, that does not help), also sometimes the lights did not entirely behave themselves for whatever reason, which caused more yelling.... Look, I'm not totally innocent or any kind of innocent, I know I'm a fuckup and fucked up, it wasn't perfect. But also, um, nitpicking the cue in great detail at the last minute, and then Jan got on me for talking at the same time, and I could not tell both of them to shut it--argh.

Jan and I are ok, we talked after, I did point out that some of the lights were misbehaving and I wasn't deliberately being shitty at fucking up the end, which I totally did (but also, seriously I WAS CLICKING ON IT AND IT WOULD NOT GO). But that said, I did NOT hang out for the post-show cake or going to Woodstocks. I have just had enough of Steve right now. Like I know he's a control freak and he's still less bad than Mom (oh jesus, just imagine HER doing this), but arrrrrrrrrgggggggggggghhhhhhhhhh.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com