Chaos Attraction

12 Hours of Blackout

2023-01-08, 9:54 a.m.

Power went out in pretty much almost all of town circa midnight. Mine came back on right before noon, but the power's still out at the theater (and most places, looks like my area is the ONLY one that got power back on), so show's canceled today. After I just got dressed, too :P Loretta's is out again, she's at Dawn's (the only one who didn't have an outage).

I spent a lot of time during the blackout texting with Jamie this morning about water stuff--her dad is a water expert and apparently he just gets asked the same three questions over and over again: will the drought end (no), will it flood (depends on where you live) and will it keep raining like this (check the weather report). She said he gives cautious answers on these questions, but frankly it sounds like to me that no matter how much rain we get or how much damage it does, it'll never, ever be enough (I guess it has to rain like this all the time for years on end first, and there has to be a lot of snowpack). Gaaaaaaaaaaawd.

I was considering seeing Frozen in Sacramento at the beginning of this month, but between the constant rains and god only knows what, I'm not wanting to commit to buying a ticket and finding out another bomb cyclone is coming that night.

They're predicting another horrible bad one, oh, TONIGHT, and saying people shouldn't leave their homes tomorrow again. Which is fine by me since I'm not scheduled to go back into the office until Thursday, but it's Opening Day at Giant Org for the season, so..... I dunno there. Most of Giant Org is also out today (not that it super matters today since almost everything is closed on a Sunday and especially right now), so I dunno how they'd notify everyone. At any rate, they put out a news article saying that since most of Giant Org got power later, they're opening for business tomorrow (sigh).

Heard from Ashley, hers was in and out from 12-3 and that means she couldn't use oxygen to sleep with (argh). Oh, and the power came on at DMTC around 2:30 finally. Jamie finally got hers around 3:30. Loretta did around 4-ish. And Morgan and I were going to have singing lesson today, but now her mom is being evacuated...."You called it," she said when I said earlier we'd have to see what goes on today :P

I was debating whether or not to go out for a walk while it's still dry, or to stay inside and enjoy my power while I still have it. I went for the latter because January sucks my mojo out the door and I got tired again. I seriously don't have the brain cells this week to work on the cross stitch or all the amigurumi patterns I have piled up. All I can do is round-and-round-and-round skirts. I tried napping but then got calls and texts, so I give up! I did start the new sweater kit I got from Mary Maxim though: a crocheted cardigan. That's pretty mindless but feels like you are doing something.

I saw another audition that tempts me: It's an improvised play...which sounds up my alley, also has pretty loose rehearsals (only 3 days a week). Once again, same performance time as everything else. It comes as #2 in the audition rotation, which kind of makes me sigh...like, I might actually have the ability to get INTO it, but that means no auditioning for Avenue Q or Tony n' Tina part 2 if I got into it. My head hurts.

And finally, one last(?) Hallmark review: Time for Him to Come Home for Christmas. This was actually a pretty good one for (a) this fake "series" and (b) a Movies and Mysteries channel, which are usually bummers. Okay, so this features the aftermath of a car accident in which someone died, but still! A threesome of friends is broken up when one of them dies in a car accident, the other two (gorgeous redhead, and Tyler Hynes, the bad boy of Hallmark) drift apart. Then Elizabeth gets the wrong voicemail message pleading to get back together with an ex, except the dude called from a hotel and the hotel is NO help. She and Tyler do their damndest to track down the missing Madelyn and let her know this. BUT! DUM DUM DUM! The reason why the wrong voicemail thing happened is because Carter (the guy) was trying to call Elizabeth because he was the driver of the other car in the accident! (Which actually makes sense.) Everything is resolved! Not bad, folks!


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com