Chaos Attraction

That May Sound Sarcastic

2023-01-09, 9:59 a.m.

Work: They were ONCE AGAIN SHORT STAFFED but at least I wasn't forced to do phones and won't have to do counter until February, so there's that. I spent the day doing tedious things but no service-y things, so that made me happy, and one of them I ended up passing off to a coworker after awhile, so that was nice.
Had to have another one-on-one with New Boss, which was otherwise quite pleasant except I got the impression that OldBoss told her to nitpick one of my emails again. (a) I asked who so-and-so was instead of looking them up myself, followed by I wrote something in parentheses saying that our normal contact for X is so-and-so, and "that may sound sarcastic." I got the feeling NewBoss was told this one rather than thinking it herself because she sounded baffled by that one herself. No matter what I do, I am offensive and should never, ever talk to or communicate with anyone, ever.

Woo hoo, no after work plans (now Morgan's power is out), GONNA GET DRUUUUUUUUUUNK!!!! ...Okay, it wasn't that bad at work. The power didn't go out again here and the rain looks like it'd stopped by early morning, so life goes on (until the next storm, at least, when's that, tomorrow?). That said ,it looks like Thursday is the only dry day this week, so I bought a ticket to Frozen after all. So I got drunk on chocolate wine, crocheted and watched more (rather dull but nice enough, I guess) Hallmark movies.

I also saw an audition for "The Taming," by Lauren Gunderson, which I considered because Lauren Gunderson, but after reading the play online, I dunno. The only character I think I could play would be the Republican one (it's a weird politics thing, nothing really to do with Taming of the Shrew), and it's fairly well incoherent with two out of three characters, and a lot of lines, and yelling, and I felt exhausted reading 54 pages of it. I can't imagine memorizing it. Between that and the extreme vagueness as to when the audition actually happens, eh, fuhgettaboutit.

I also watched two more Hallmarks, mostly dull ones:

We Need A Little Christmas: there's a slight romance but mostly it's about the friendship between two neighboring widows who bond over the son of one of them. The older widow just wants her grandson (a military doctor) back for Christmas, which happens. Simple one, there.

My Grown-Up Christmas List: romance between ordinary girl and military guy, who is perpetually called away on missions and can barely get home before he has to go back, shit like that. Kevin McGarry's a good egg and I like the actress too, but military stuff is depressing in these movies. They're a cute couple (and I've always liked the song it's based on), but I can't help but think they've hardly spent ANY time together after the first...I dunno, half hour-ish of the movie? But it does go with "no more lives torn apart, and wars would never start" in the lyrics, anyway.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com