Chaos Attraction

I'm A Lumberduke And I'm OK

2023-01-14, 10:01 a.m.

I have been reading Spare and recapping it elsewhere, so not much to say otherwise.

Tuesday:

Work: Emergency Things came in that I got in trouble for fucking up previously. I note that 80% of them are fine and standardized, but 20% of them are people who have made poor life choices that fuck up their records and require way too much complicated fixing, and that's where I fucked up. They want you to wipe out what the client did to their records, make it look like they didn't do what they did, and then replace it all again. It's an irritating mess and I cannot claim to understand it.

I said to NewBoss, please train everyone on this since I obviously can't be the one to do it. She said sure, then realized she's never done it before, did not comprehend our terribly written instructions (seriously, they are bad) and well... yeah. Perhaps now they get why I'm so terrible at this? But what was also kind of bad was that she started doing them wrong (OldBoss was supposed to be in for this helping, but she was in and out because the printer repair guy was in or something) and I had to point out that she was doing it wrong, even though I am the LAST person who should be pointing out that it's wrong because everything I do is wrong.

My therapist canceled AGAIN--still can't hear--so I went to the bookstore during lunch when it was actually dry and sunny and picked up my copy of Spare. It did not rain today (was predicted to "get bad" tonight, so far rained about 3 drops), so I was going to go to karaoke with Ashley. Then the road I usually go on was totally flooded. Then I tried the other back road and that was ALSO flooded. Then we said "fuck this, we're going to IHOP" and did that instead.


Wednesday:

Today I am out of work again by 10 a.m. and the temp is hitting me up for extra work, and I'm all "um, delete extra addresses, this is literally all I got." It's so weird after so many years of perpetual short staffing to NOT be drowning in shit all the time.

Was going to go to tap class tonight, but it's canceled because nobody but me wanted to show up. Sheesh. Makes me wonder if it's going to get canceled for winter if that's the case and no regulars were booked?

I did watch Leverage Redemption: "The Belly of the Beast Job" and was delighted at the term "lumberduke," which they made up for the phenomenon of royalty in disguise as a blue collar man.

"She's really trying to find a duke who's pretending to be a lumberjack."
"Carol appears to be trying to manifest a lumberduke, yes."


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com