Chaos Attraction

This Setup Doesn't Work

2022-01-13, 9:18 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
All Of This Over Five Dollars - 2022-01-18
Snuff That Girl - 2022-01-17
Urinetown Begins - 2022-01-16
The Show Won't Go On - 2022-01-15
I Got Into Urinetown - 2022-01-14

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Had to go to the office to mail Important Documents for an hour in the morning. Then spent another hour with unvaccinated grandboss (me in a fresh KN95 they provided, her in what I'm presuming is the best available N95 strap-on) regarding the laptop setup. Then I came home and spent most of the next 2 hours trying to delete/move things off the old computer, sigh. Someone else is gonna have to do questions today, people. After lunch I finally caved in and tried to install all this shit. Basically I'm supposed to plug all of the ethernet and double monitor stuff into a docking station and then plug the laptop into the docking station. SUPPOSEDLY.

HOWEVER: (a) This docking station has 2 USB ports, 1 HDMI port and 1 display port. (b) Each monitor has one USB port and 1 display port. (c) I CANNOT PLUG IN BOTH MONITORS IN THIS THING since there are 2 display port cords and one actual port for that, and seriously, I am not doing this effing job on a tiny laptop or one screen or laptop plus one screen, that will make me crazy and this is why I never wanted a work laptop in the first place. Like I get the idea of not having to work on different computers on office days is great, and supposedly we can use these like a portable drive, but SO FAR THIS IS NOT GOING WELL. (d) Also, they didn't bother to install the VPN on the laptop either, or at least I can't find it on the laptop once I got home. Grandboss did...something...on it beforehand but I don't know what that was.

So literally, I can't do anything with this mess right now. I can't even get online with the laptop and one monitor to halfass work. I have spent the afternoon making a giant mess, trying to view ports that are hidden really well, and texting my coworkers to go WTF about the whole thing. They were all "Yeah, we had that mess too, we eventually figured out we have to have 2 HDMI cords," and I can't for the life of me figure out why TWO are needed. Like theoretically if you could swap one display port for one HDMI and the thing still works, great, why does it need two unless you have to swap out both? Never got an answer for that one from my coworkers, but they did send sympathetic rage emojis and exasperation gifs. Circa 4 p.m. I hit my limit and just replugged my old computer back in. Grandboss stopped responding to texts circa 2:30 and only responded to me circa 4:30 on Slack once I had everything back on again, saying to come in for cords tomorrow afternoon. I wanted to get that over with today, but..sigh.

Rae and family got it. She called while I was in the office and I declined the call and then texted that I was at work, but she texted that. Later she called to say she's feeling fine but her mom got it, she is at their house now, mom said she will get tested in four days. She won't be going to school but the teacher isn't there anyway because Guess Why. She can still smell the dinner they're making, was coughing on the phone but said she swallowed a chip, said she felt itchy...WHO KNOWS. She said they wanted to throw a Hawaiian party and I was all "later, when things don't suck."

Ashley called me later while bored in line to get tested ("I TOLD YOU TO BRING THE YARN," I said, along with "GET A BIGGER PURSE THEN.") and said that Rae called and blamed everyone getting sick on her. To which, well, maybe. I pointed out that according to her mom, she also got exposed at school and her mom got exposed at work last Friday, so could have been any of it, who knows any more. She said it still sucks to hear, though. I asked if anyone at karaoke who isn't staff is wearing a mask ("I don't know") and if her dad is (he isn't). She's given up on saying anything to that one.

I did hear from Loretta today. She has a shitty nephew who is always doing something terrible. Last I heard from Loretta IRL, he had a super shitty new girlfriend who is super rude and constantly is in and out of jobs and marriages because she's horrible. OF COURSE NOW HE HAS MARRIED HER, visited his parents, and now everyone has Covid. Let's recap!

"It was a Zoom wedding that was a joke. The time and location changed four times, including on that day. Bride and groom spent the first 15 minutes fighting while trying to get the zoom to work." Bride started to drink before the ceremony even began. She told the groom she never loved her previous husbands, in front of her children. The cake was Pepto pink with a tiara and wine glass on top. "Their outfits were weirder than the cake." He was in all white, with some kind of Flying Nun-esque collar and a huge tallis that "covered him like a shroud," the bride had a "low cut" mauve dress with rhinestones and floor length veil to get married outside of their apartment building. I was surprised it wasn't all Pepto pink for the dress and the groom's suit, actually. And, OF COURSE, "Bride already had Covid. Of course they then went over to my sister's."

Mom called, she's taking the job. Roger is fine with it. I told her to go to Home Depot and buy N95 masks immediately or drive to me to get some (see below).

I am happy to report that I actually got packages today, both the N95's (I flagged the guy down as he was lost in the hallway) and the Xmas gift from Mary Maxim--my cousin Linda got me a gift certificate. I ordered a Christmas tree that hangs on a wall, a circular needle holder, and more yarn. The glitter yarn is awesome, the sock yarn is horrendously disappointing in the colors. Oh well, 3 out of 4, I guess. At least I was home for that stuff to be delivered. Now I currently have no packages in transit, for the moment.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com