Chaos Attraction

Happy Punching (in the air)

2023-01-14, 11:29 a.m.

Today: read Spare all day, except for my singing lesson with Morgan (FINALLY HAPPENED), in which we did the following:
(a) Went over my audition bit for "A Trip To The Library" (note: she and the Cabaret cast auditioning are going Monday)
(b) Went over "Adelaide's Lament" for my second audition song for Avenue Q, picked a section of it to do that's character-y but not using too many long medical words except for "bromofizz" (whatever THAT is).
(c) Did more "Lost in the Brass." I love this song. It's so much fun.

Show tonight: went well, smoothly, no major incidents, YAY.

Isaiah was in the audience tonight, said hi to me. Omar had friends in the audience who gave him pink flowers, which is cute (also went with his pink sweatshirt, I note he seems to either wear all back, or pink).

Brian came over to ask how the show is going, since Kimmie can only tell him what's going on behind stage. Me: "She chucked the brick across the ENTIRE stage." Brian got Pirate King in Pirates for the third time, good for him, asked Omar why he hadn't auditioned. Omar said he hadn't had the time. We discussed how as a guy, he can just literally join any show he wants to without auditioning (assuming he's fine with being ensemble).

I got a free cookie tonight when Laurie the house manager said, "She's working here, she doesn't have to pay!"

Kimmie pitched the brick with somewhat less enthusiasm tonight, it made the middleish of the stage.

Kelvin did find money down Sarah's shirt tonight--looks like she positioned it so it was easy to find--but he dropped one end of the Nazi flag at the end of Act One and just did a sad pouty wilt after doing it. (Well, what else would you do?)

Background comm things:

Steve before show: "Bathrooms are empty, mile high club is clear..." followed by him and Kimmie making airline attendant references.

Steve at end of intermission: "I'm in the Pit of Despair." Kimmie: "I'm waiting for you in the Pit of Despair." This was followed by Steve claiming he farted and Kimmie being all, "I know, that's why I don't sit in your chair!"

I told Morgan during the lesson today that Omar is happy punching during her solo and she said yeah, I see y'all up there! So he did more happy punching today and I did a little myself, har har.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com