Chaos Attraction

A Mean Prank

2023-01-17, 8:11 p.m.

My therapist canceled again this morning. She was hospitalized for vertigo and going back to the doctor. I asked if she needs to go on "we're not doing any appointments unless I let you know" status again and she said she didn't know, I said if this doesn't sound like it's improving any time soon, maybe she needs to? At any rate, given things going on with me today--having to be in the office and figure out how to return Dawn's glasses ASAP--that worked out.

That said, obviously I now had lunch free, so Dawn and Loretta came over to Giant Org today, I gave Dawn her glasses back and she gave me my DVD back and some oranges, and the three of us walked around the back end of town today. It was very nice and I continue to be jealous of the retiree lifestyle.

I bought a ticket to see Treasure Island on Saturday and told Debbie I couldn't leave work at 5 today so I can't go to the store in time, and she said she heard something about them being open Saturdays now, so she'll check on that. It'd be nice if I could get over there on a Saturday before the show, for sure.

Workload wise, I was kept busy dragging through a long list. Then I got a giant list of URGENT sent with 20 minutes to go in the work day. They have been TOLD NOT TO DO THAT AT THE END OF THE DAY BUT THEY ALWAYS FUCKING DO IT. Also, I got told that they're still working on the long names fix...maybe a month to go....to which I was all YEAH RIGHT I KNOW BETTER THAN TO BELIEVE YOU WITH THE FOOTBALL, LUCY. On a related note, my teammates posted that they were "so excited about our partnership with" (other office we already "partner" with) and I was all, um, what are you talking about that's any different than usual? I didn't see any emails or updates on anything and in the end was all, I am not excited about anything at this job other than leaving it.

Otherwise I didn't do fuckall today--Ashley didn't want to do karaoke, so I stayed home, made lasagna for hours and finished the third piece of my crocheted cardigan in about another 2.5 days, which is awesome.


I'm horrified at what I heard today.

So one of my temp coworkers wasn't in early this morning. Apparently this was because OldBoss texted her at 5 a.m. telling her the power was out at GiantOrg and to not come in and enjoy her day off. She kinda wondered about this, but figured it was rude to contact people at 5 a.m. and this would be overriding NewBoss to ask, and she lives about an hour away from here so she wouldn't know how our power situation would be going, so she went with it...until NewBoss called asking where she was.

Basically, some shithead who knew who a supervisor here was and got her number spoofed texting her. The number's been disconnected now, of course. Police of course can't do shit and all she can do otherwise is tell the temp company not to hand out her phone number. She showed me the text and I said, "well, look at the grammar and misspelling" (this person couldn't use a period and just sent a long run-on sentence, which is not how OldBoss writes in text or email)," and she said yeah, she should have thought of that. I note that the temp isn't that nitpicking the text in messaging herself, that probably didn't raise a red flag with her like it would with me.

Then she got a ticket for parking nearby here. "Could this day get any worse?" she said. Me: "Don't say that!"

I'm so fucking horrified. I got "anonymously" slandered here myself years ago and I'm just like, who the hell would do this now? Because the likely culprit in my case has nothing to do with her, and that makes you worry if anyone in my current unit is a secret shithead. I don't think anyone in this unit would do that, but good god. I'm feeling paranoid and it's not even me. She didn't get in trouble for it (other than not having worked the first few hours of the day, anyway), at least.

I note that this temp is...obviously of a certain group that gets shit from people (this is the one that gets weird vandalism at her house periodically), and unfortunately that may be the reason why. I'd like to think that nobody would be shitty like this here, but now we have to wonder? I doubt she handed out her personal phone to anyone who wasn't a supervisor because that kind of thing hasn't been coming up here recently, but good god.

And while this temp's stint ends in 2 weeks anyway (which she may be relieved about now....), what if someone pulls this shit on the other temp? Who is not of obvious other group, but is of (I'm not gonna ask but I could probably guess) some other status that's probably fairly obvious and I'm not gonna spell out here, and now I'm worried if someone's going to be shitty to her too. I can't even with this. I'm so mad. Nobody better pull this shit on the new temp either. I presume this one told the other one so she'd be on her guard, but....oh, god, people suck.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com