Chaos Attraction

Nobody Likes Those Candidates Either

2022-01-19, 6:10 p.m.

Today my coworker Hope is getting screamed at over email and voicemail because she told someone they overpaid for something. Why did they overpay, she asked me, and where did they get that amount of money from? I said they don't read, and I'm betting this is someone international (IT WAS) because they especially don't read. Hope was trying to be nice and good lord, it wasn't worth it. The girl wouldn't have noticed she overpaid, we didn't have to hit them up for more money because they paid a dollar, etc.

Other than that, it was the usual (a) Where's my thing? Guess what, we didn't receive your thing, (b) I need it in a rush nowwwwwwwww, (c) you sent an international address and it's guaranteed to be lost and now she's arguing with me, blah blah blah. I think my boss got the idea that I might be approaching burnout (after I said I spend at least 4-6 hours a day on nothing but mail) today and was all "do you want some vacation days back?" and I said it won't help, it just makes the workload worse when you stop swimming for a day. I said I've been burnt out for...no comment.

I got tested again. Whee. That was probably the best part of my workday, getting to leave working for 25 minutes.

Actually, no, the morning wasn't too bad. They are now doing the public presentations for BigBoss applicants. I missed the first one due to last week's computer drama, but was provided a recording for that one. I asked how it went and got a "eh....we weren't that into her" sort of reaction from people, but upon watching it, I actually liked the woman and would be pretty happy with her candidacy. Which probably doesn't bode well for her, but she sounded quite reasonable, agrees with me on at least one big thing, and actually says she shares budget information with ALL the staff, which is a thing this office doesn't do. Even my boss has no idea on the finances here, but she's middle management. She also said she came up with an at-home plan in January 2020, so by March they all had laptops. I NOTE THAT MY EFFING OFFICE STILL CAN'T MANAGE TO PROVIDE ME WITH A WORKING LAPTOP SITUATION AS OF JANUARY 2022.

The live one I watched today was just okay. He is clearly a Data Guy, which we get sometimes in this job. I wouldn't super object to him but wasn't totally into him either. Candidate #3 already bailed, so we have #4 sometime later this week. Fun fact: when I read the job materials for #1, they clearly included some paperwork they should not have with a list of the 15 applicants. One of whom was...hm, our current Interim Big Boss. Who did not even get considered for an interview, apparently. I'm surprised he applied but am not surprised he didn't get an interview. I doubt he's a spectacular internal candidate and they probably aren't going to go in house when the rest are recruits. Well, whatever, it was 2 hours of my day that was NOT whining about the mail, so there's that.


Rehearsal:

Jean (actress) has dropped out to do caregiving for her friend but will still finish The Producers.
Shorthaired Sarah tried asking again why he can't extend the run and he said (a) all the ticketing is a giant pain in the ass he has to do and (b) nobody will buy any on Super Bowl weekend. Can't argue there.
We have been getting 25% capacity during pandemic.
I asked Steve if it was running this weekend and he said yes, but he was waiting on Boris to test, presumably today.
We did "Act 1 Finale" (no, it doesn't have a better name than that), which took an hour and fifty minutes. Then we did "What is Urinetown?" in the last TEN. Dang.

Clocky showed up tonight. Like I know I'm weird and I can't judge, but...Clocky?! He was in the back, never talked to him.

"You get to breathe wherever you can fit it in. You're excited because it's the most exciting thing to happen to you all day." -Kyle

"This is not a pretty show. There are not many moments where your voice has to be pretty." -Kyle

"I'll be dead next time we do this." -Steve "We've been here long enough to repeat shows." -Tomas

"I don't want to hear anything about thongs in the middle of this..." -Kyle

Ed: "Did it sound good?" Kyle: "..... " (uh...it'll sound good with practice)

"What's the orchestra doing?" -Kyle "Well, that's your job, isn't it?" -Sarah

"It's awkward. We're gonna lean into it." -Kyle

"And then we see how many people leave at intermission." -Steve

Kyle on "What Is Urinetown?" "This is one quarter song and three quarters screechy accent." Steve on this song: "This is the one with the toiler paper dance."

"Penguins are people." -Kyle, no context whatsoever.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com