Chaos Attraction

More Dental Drama

2023-01-19, 8:15 p.m.

(posted these in the wrong order, oh well)

Today sucked. It is also the sixteenth anniversary of my dad's death, which is a long time ago. Mom asked how I was doing--I presumed for that reason--and then she forgot it. Ooookay then.

I had to go to the dentist. They are very nice about my dental issues, but I still have to be lectured every time on why I don't floss better--I note that the lady had a hard time getting in there herself and I was all, "see, you're a professional and YOU have a hard time!" she was all, "hey, at least they're not so big you get food in there all the time," And perennially, why don't you get a WaterPik, which I hated--never had the thing charged + filled with water + remembered to take it into the shower with me, can't say I enjoyed the few times I shot water all around myself using the thing if I remembered to either.

Two fillings have to be replaced, which sucks, but could be worse with me. They also said something else...let's just say I did not calm down enough for them...and I can't even deal with this, it freaks me out. Like blue screen of death, no, I don't want to call a doctor level of I can't deal with this.

Then I had to go get my second HPV shot and new dentist (they got two lady dentists!!! My usual one is doing Doctors Without Borders or whatever it is in the Philippines) was going to put in a prescription to drug me up before the whole thing, then forgot, and I ended up waiting around there for awhile, leaving, going back home, finding out that even after the doctor phoned it in they still hadn't done anything until I did some crap online...sheesh. So that was the morning. I was quite cranky.

And finally, at work today, GUESS WHAT ANOTHER PACKAGE ISN'T BEING DELIVERED HERE WHEN IT SHOULD BE. It was supposed to arrive today and then UPS is all "the address is incorrect or incomplete" and I can't do fuckall about it. Had to email the vendor again. FFS.

Though for my own news, I did get my new LL Bean wheelie backpack today, just in time for work tomorrow. Boring color, but about the same setup as my old one but with water bottle holders on the sides, yay.

I did look at WaterPiks later, but it still seems like an expensive investment I don't particularly want to make and don't think I'll love to use (Loretta said she got rid of hers), even if you don't have to use them in a shower these days. On the other hand, one of my online chat crew suggested xylitol gum, as a friend of hers who was so sick while pregnant she couldn't brush for six months and only came out with two cavities, to which I was all SOLD even though I am not a gum chewer. I ordered a bunch of packs in fruity flavors off Amazon.

At least the evening was better. I was supposed to go over to Dawn's to get the gift Ron picked out for all of us--a safety combination radio/flashlight/solar charger/plugs into a USB port/has a hand crank gadget--which morphed into dinner, which morphed into Loretta is coming too, which morphed into Crafting Time because Dawn wanted us to help her put together cards for her brother's birthday. She did this 80-birthday-cards thing for Ron and wants to do a 70th thing for her brother, so she had a bunch of old sailboat/lighthouse/boat-type cards that she wanted us to die cut into smaller pieces and then pair them with other papers. Oh yeah, and she mentioned lasagna and it was 5:40 and she said it'd be an hour and I was all "crap, I have singing lesson at 7:15." I got it moved to 7:30 so I could eat!

Singing lesson was "Adelaide's Lament"--she wants me to do a different section of it than before, I don't like that one as much--involves saying the word "streptococci," even if you're basically saying "cock," followed by doing the end of "Lost in the Brass," which has SO many notes at the end that um...we'll do that again later. I asked how her audition went, she said there were 62 who auditioned total, hers went ok, she got called back for Elizabeth with about two other girls, one barely legal and the other at the top of the age range (Morgan being mid-20's), so who knows? That sounds pretty hopeful to me for her!


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com