Chaos Attraction

Politically Incorrect Grieving

2007-01-21, 5:52 p.m.

I am feeling fine, thank you.

Just fine.

Cheerful and perky and...normal, even. For like the first time in ten years.

Perhaps this isn't exactly ah, politically correct grieving, i.e. that I don't seem to HAVE any grief.

Instead, I have been enjoying (!!!) spending time with the various relatives on both sides, and looking at old photos of Dad for the memorial service. It doesn't hurt to do that.

We're at Aunt Susie's for the weekend right now and went shopping in Placerville. I spent more than I wanted to considering that (a) I am pretty well low on funds and (b) was saving what funds I have for Disneyland, until I found more stores... yeah, this is pretty typical.

Mom is doing okay, not all that teary (relatively speaking). Probably because it hasn't sunk in yet. I am pretty afraid of what happens on her first day back at work, when she can't spend all night at the nursing home. She is spending tons of money on presents for like everyone she ever met in her life of late, though.

Weird thing: we came back from Placerville and Travis and Alicia had come over, and it was like, "Oh, yeah, I forgot, I'm supposed to be all messed up here."

I don't know what to make of that.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com