Chaos Attraction

Treasure Island

2023-01-21, 8:16 p.m.

Today I finally got to go to the new bookstore in Woodland because it was open Saturday from 10-4 (not open Sun/Mon). It is small and charming and had a pretty good selection for a small store, I found a book I wanted right away. Debbie said she was bringing Rae, which kinda had plusses and minusses--well, what I mean by minusses is she can't read, so after 5 minutes of being in a bookstore Rae will want to leave immediately. I got there before they did but was only there about 5 minutes before they arrived, and I note Debbie grabbed her books and was out of there in 5 minutes. I suppose I will have to try to go back on my own later. After that we went to do breakfast/lunch at Morgan's Mill, which was fun, discussed various plays, DNA tests, trips, etc.

After that, I went to go see Treasure Island, which Eddie and Other Jennifer from The Producers are in. She's ensemble (back and forth between "random lady" and pirate), Eddie is playing Tom Morgan, first mate on the ship. I attempted to watch a non-musical of Treasure Island online during the (first year of) pandemic, which I did not like. This was better, albeit sometimes I wanted to be all, "I don't think you needed to have a song about being shipshape?" Clearly the actors are having fun (Eddie certainly was). I cracked up on him yelling, "We're going to be RICH!" and commented on the deja vu of that from The Producers to him afterwards. I was also amused that the character of Ben is obsessed with cheese--and literally has a song about it--and I was all "He's the cheese man from Buffy IRL" afterwards.

I'm kind of confused on the character of Jim. Jim is clearly written as a boy throughout the whole thing, was played by a teenage (?) girl in this one, and then in the show the character of Meg was forced to dress up as a boy and be a cabin boy, something she doesn't want to do AT ALL and especially freaks when she's forced to bathe the captain (no, it's a kids' show, nothing untoward happens). Now, from the time I tried to watch Treasure Island online, that character was clearly a girl who's dressing as a guy, so I spent the entire show trying to figure out if Jim was supposed to be a cisgender boy or a girl in disguise or trans or what here. I guess Jim is supposed to be a cisgender boy here.

I would like to quote from one guy's bio: He "has been a minor theater threat ever since he first threatened a miner in the theater as part of the Mole Hill Community Committee's production of Gold Dust Diggers of 1849. After his release from the Happy Hearts Confinement Consignment, he's restricted his menace to glowering over the footlights. Treasure Island marks his first production since his last one." I like this dude. Didn't find/meet him after the show, but would have been entertained to do so. I did notice while reading bios that a few people were brand new to this theater and got in here with little experience...all men, of course. I think there was only one adult male in "ensemble" and the rest were teenage boys/NB or ladies.

I overheard after Treasure Island today that it sounded like the leads have already been cast and told--it sounds like the girl playing Meg in this show got Elizabeth, so I guess Morgan didn't (sigh). Oh well, she'll live. Eddie said he was doing the next kids' show, so he wasn't doing Young Frankenstein. I did spot three people from Cabaret there--Joshua (Ernst) was sitting above me, thought about saying something and was all, he would have even less clue as to who I am than anyone else, never mind, don't make it weird. Then I ran into Taylor and Kat on the staircase and since I'd briefly met Taylor at New Year's, said hello and then had to say who I was. Yeah, that was awkward/weird. Oh well. Saw Danny and Eddie afterwards, which is where I heard the YF casting news--I gather the other girl hanging around at the time was the third girl going for Elizabeth, so bummer for her too. Never did see Other Jennifer afterwards, maybe she left early or super late.

I did get Steve's card in the mail. The custom message I said to put in takes up half the card, so I figure I'll just send it from me, then. Put it back in the mail, presumably he should get it at home sometime next week.


Show went smoothly tonight--extra important since it was Filming Night. Unfortunately for me, the guy set up his entire setup RIGHT in front of me, blocking off the left hand side of the stage, and some of my cues in the second act involve me seeing someone do something on that side, sigh. Oh well, managed anyway by standing up.

Moments before the show:

* Chris singing "Why Should I Wake Up" as a Muppet

* Someone's dad: "My daughter's in the play. I threatened to show up in a German uniform, but I thought it might not go over very well."

* Scott showed up with Steve (Harold Hill Steve) from Music Man. He did briefly look at me when he came in, then they went to talk to Jan for awhile, then he did come and talk to me (and Omar) in the booth about shows. I actually had on the socks he gave me today, but obviously couldn't show them from my angle. He said something or other like "cool," I think.

I told him what I heard on Young Frankenstein, he said something about how he'd heard the choreographer was hard to work with (guess we'll never know), he didn't want to dance, blah de blah. He didn't get called back either. The usual conversation about what to audition for next happened, I said Avenue Q followed by TnT. So far he hasn't said much about that, other than he said something about Linda being rather prim and proper on language even though she was directing that show. Omar suggested he audition for Avenue Q along with us, but he doesn't want to because that's over an hour away from his home, which led to discussion about how Solano County is a theater wasteland. He also said that Robert and Cameron are in "Art" in Winters and I was all wait, what, isn't that supposed to be all men? Yeah, well, not too many people auditioned... and that's as far as that got before the show started, he didn't come back over again after that. There was brief waving from him/kind of introducing other Steve at a distance during intermission, but that was it.

I admit it didn't help that the camera guy kept filming Scott while setting up, and he was within my view, and then I watched him chatting everyone up after the show. I stayed away from him but did kind of linger behind the stage listening to him for awhile...sigh.

Someday I will no longer care and I won't care about anybody again ever.

Sigh.

I did feel annoyed that sure, he wanted to come to this show, just not MY show, and lied about it. He even went on to Omar about hearing about the show (and him being out of it) from his grandma. I debated offering him my DVD of the show...but never mind, he didn't want to see it in the first place, dumbass.

Sigh. But good on me for not soliciting his attention again after the show or trying anything. Let him come to me, alone. I'm not going to reach out to him.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com