Chaos Attraction

That's Jamie Lee Curtis?

2023-01-25, 8:23 p.m.

Combining a few days. 1/24:

My morning sucked. I went to bed super early, kept waking up to check the alarm, and had to get up by 7:10 on an at-home work day to go to the SpeeDee. Unfortunately it was 33 degrees out and the car was iced over and I had to pour water (and get more water) over the car multiple times to get it to de-ice to be able to drive it. How the hell do people in real weather in winter do this?! I finally made it there early (7:45) and managed to come up with the "wheel nuts" or whatever it was the owner asked for to rotate the tires. I went home in the cold and traffic on foot, was home for 40 minutes and then I got the voice mail saying they had finished...at 8:35. Why did I have to go home, then? So I walked back and got it and hopefully I'm done with this shit for awhile.

HAHAHAHAH NOPE, I picked up Ashley for karaoke and she said, "What's that flappy thing coming off the front of your car?" Dammit. I'm going to have to go do it AGAIN tomorrow to get it fixed WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH.

Other than that, karaoke was fun, that's all I got these days.


Today I got up early AGAIN, de-iced the car AGAIN, sat in the cold AGAIN...only to be told the flap coming off was my fault because I must have hit something (I didn't hit anything, of course no one believes me), they shoved it back but the screw fell out and I'd have to go to a dealer, which isn't worth it and it causes no problems if the flap flies off. They didn't charge me for this, but I felt so fucking stupid.

I then had a work meeting I was just in time for--yaaaay--followed by an online class in how to write a resume. I swear, every time I take these classes (and I have more on the schedule to go), there's almost nothing new. I am aware that resumes need to be two pages, you don't have to have an objective or your address, it should have action verbs and bullet points and be chronological/hybrid...nothing new I haven't already read and done. There's a website that might be interesting to use, but of course it requires a password...and then she went on about the "career track" thing that was a waste of my time in another one of these classes. Why are they pushing this? But they never got around to "chat with your group" time and it killed an hour of time, so it's a passive win and yarning time while you watch it.

Other than that, I had to do international client lists all fucking day. Finished it. Then got told, "Did you see that I sent two more?" Then after I finished those, I got "Did you see I had this one on my list but not yours?" GRRRRRRRRRRR.

Ashley called, got the results of her CT scan, which she dubbed "worse than I was expecting," but for the most part sounded about like I would have expected? Like she knows the situation is bad, probably requires open heart, probably needs to be done sooner rather than later. So...I dunno, but well, it's like me getting a performance review: you know it's going to be bad but it's always at least somewhat worse than you expected...? Anyway, we discussed how maybe she shouldn't look up more things to freak herself out right now. Meanwhile, her sister is still pregnant and still pissed at doctors and who knows when the kid comes out. They are having medical sympathy talks. (On a related note, Loretta got annoyed at getting a $20 charge for a pointless 15 minute appointment that wouldn't look at what she wanted and said what's the point of being proactive? I agreed.)

I have a pen pal in Canada, and she's also quite irate today over an idiot coworker leaving (that's a happy) but being replaced by someone "senior" and then they're trying to poach/nitpick her work, and she thought she was doing well but now who the hell knows, and she's pissed. That made my general level of pissy lately look like nothing.

Went to tap class tonight, did a lot of "riffs" (unclear how to describe this...kind of a big step and shuffling from toe to heel or vice versa).

Then went home and watched Everything Everywhere All At Once. I don't know how to describe that experience, other than "weirdest movie I've ever seen" and "how the heck do you write this" and "someone please explain it to me" and "hey, can I be the Evelyn who's a complete loser in every life so I can use the other one's powers?" and "Waymond is sweet and I really like Alpha Waymond and his fanny pack" and "I sorta wish I could show this to my mom for the mom/daughter issues but she would not get this AT ALL" and "Raccoontouie!" and "THAT'S JAMIE LEE CURTIS?!?!" which was preceded by "I'm surprised they cast that frumpy an actress in an action movie scene?", which was preceded by "Are those butt plug awards?" (Yes, yes they are.)


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com