Chaos Attraction

A Loud Lunch

2023-01-26, 8:24 p.m.

Work: not a whole lot to do, piddled about doing various things, including personal work projects that I mostly have done-ish now... I'm kind of stringing that out for days in public. I was supposed to have the individual meeting with BigBoss but he postponed it to tomorrow--whatever, but that means I have to come up with a second boring outfit to wear to work, pooh. Okay, so wearing a big handmade sweater isn't boring, but otherwise I'd be wearing my Cabaret sweatshirt this week as a last-minute show pimp, sigh.

The UPS drama continues, as according to my vendor, UPS still hasn't had any communication with them and they have no idea why UPS won't deliver to us. She said she was going to resend everything to our office, is that okay? I privately wrote her back that I am absolutely not allowed to say no or make decisions on this at all, but it's ridiculous that UPS refuses to cooperate and this has been 3 months now and I'm sick of them being lost or sent back and it takes like a month to get them again and this is fair to no one, rant rant I hate UPS....anyway, I'd prefer she have a discussion with management about changing the address before immediately sending them back here to be lost again. She very nicely said she'd keep that information to herself that I told her, and wrote to NewBoss saying that so far UPS refuses to communicate with them and under the circumstances, we might want to consider just changing the address so this cycle of returning packages doesn't continue. NewBoss never responded to that, but god bless vendor lady for trying.

I went out to lunch with Rachel, during which our lunch was first interrupted by (a) annoying preacher guy who always hangs around at lunch--today he was calling everyone pedophiles, CHARMING, I SURE DO WANT TO HANG OUT WITH YOUR JESUS NOW, FUCKER, and then (b) he was drowned out by a loud protest about animal testing. Rachel (who works in a lab but not doing animal testing) and I were sympathetic and don't want animals hurt, but at the same time, I dunno what good protesting's going to do and I'm not sure how you study some stuff without them. On the way back to the office, I ran into two of my coworkers, who'd also moved their lunch to attempt to not hear the protest, and we all griped that we all felt similarly on the topic, and one of them had said she saw job listings wanting you to be okay with animal testing and she was all "oh hell no" to that.

After work, I had singing lesson with Morgan--covered "Adelaide's Lament" a bit but mostly focused on various sections of "Lost In The Brass," which is mostly going pretty well except for the end, which is complicated. I haven't bothered to check if the list for Young Frankenstein is up yet (not my business) and apparently it's not up because she's wondering. I sadly had to tell her I heard that the people who did get parts have been told, which I think she knew because Chris from Cabaret got a part (Igor? I think?) and got told. Sigh. Honestly, I know this theater has money and is Quality and actually pays a few people (according to Jean, this is because they don't have to pay rent on their venue), but I don't think I like how they operate? Laggy-ass and late and can't make decisions officially for weeks? What more do you need to know?

Quote from Morgan tonight: "A lot of singing is just brain tricking."

I considered going to see Everything Everywhere All At Once next week in an actual theater, then pondered "do I feel like driving to Sac by 6 p.m.-ish on a Monday night" (I note for the non-locals that Sacramento is a chill half hour drive on weekends, but trying to bust ass to get there within an hour by 6 p.m. on a weeknight is a "who the hell knows" experience) then thought, "Ya dumb fuck, you already paid $20 to be able to watch it at home with lights on while crocheting, why would you go to the movie theater with another ticket and gas money for that?!" I'm practical. (I note the IMAX, which is what I was considering, is at 6 p.m in South Sac somewhere, probably a pain in the ass to try to get there in time.) Can't really do it any other day, so....eh.... maybe if I was going with others or something, but probably not really worth the finances since I've already spent that to watch at home on big laptop screen where I can pause things.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com