Chaos Attraction

A Really Bad Girl Gang

2022-01-27, 7:14 p.m.

Work:

All staff meeting today and Interim BigBoss decided to go over the staff work satisfaction survey (from 2020, I think? and yet we had to do one for 2021 and have been told we have to do another for 2022 as well). Shockingly, most people don't think anything is going to change as a result of this survey. GEE, I WONDER WHY. Every year it's the usual list of problems, like "we can't get tech fixes" and "we can't get other offices to cooperate with us" and "people are afraid to speak up for fear of retribution." Having been burnt on that last one myself....

Really, if we lived in a sane world, why aren't Hope and I able to just say stuff like, "Seriously, having to haul a laptop AND keyboard AND mouse AND docking station physically to the office every time you make us go in IS NOT MAKING ANYTHING EASIER?" Except we can't say that, because that isn't going to be listened to at best and at worse...

Teresa, who is going to retire and god bless, doesn't have to give a shit about saying anything, was the only one to say things like "Why do we have to do the survey again when they haven't done anything with the first one?" and the answer was "so we can track changes." Um, what, you think you're gonna get better reviews? LOLOLOL. She also noticed that IBB himself said, "We aren't notified of any big changes and I've had to find out via tweet." Everyone else was dead silent when asked to speak up, of course.

Seriously, watching IBB today, I can't help but think "I'm not sure how you got your job." Maybe he's great technically speaking (that is what he was hired for), I dunno, and I know some people are just not great at public speaking (during Yarn Club today Yemi asked if he was possibly neuroatypical or whatever and I was all "hell if I know"), but he's a slow talker, he's very hesitant, and I was seriously wondering if it was the Zoom cutting out or if it was just him. I think it was just him. Like, I can see why they didn't want him permanently in the gig, even I don't really find that very leadership-y? Though when I think about it, I remember him not sounding too thrilled about having the interim job for 2 years as is back in 2020, so why did he apply?

And yes, they want to throw out the two remaining candidates and go fishing again eye-roll They actually think they're going to get better?!

In other work news, it should not take me 20 minutes to do something I used to be able to do in seconds in the old database. It either saves with no changes, won't let me save, just copies the same thing repeatedly when I don't want it to at all, won't let me go farther down, won't let me delete...EVERY EFFING TIME IT'S 20 MINUTES and by the time I finally get it to work, I have no idea how I did that.

On the good news side, all the Important Documents that the post office supposedly couldn't find that I put in the mail 2 weeks ago apparently got picked up Monday and somehow they only showed up with the tracking numbers today. They will not be making their international Far East destinations until early or mid February. International mail sucks. Still no word on the package I'm supposed to be receiving in office, but St. Anthony came through on the rest of it so far.

In the world of yarn: Scott's mom sent out the mailing list this month and wrote about her husband having surgery and her bringing a portable project to work at the hospital. I actually wrote her back and was all "I HEAR THAT, I ran out at Christmas!" about the whole thing :P That lady is very Taurean, being all "I'm going to have a survival kit for being at the ER all day, I'm packing snacks and entertainment...." Seriously, I like his family!

(Though there was a whole thing at the bottom about how people were mad at them for not always having masks on any more once it wasn't mandated by the entire state, they will put one on if you want and will do curbside/Internet.... I don't say anything on that topic these days.)

Anyway, she wrote back to say she brought an afghan on a business trip, stuffed the suitcase full of yarn, and got so far along on it she couldn't bring it on the plane home, so she now brings smaller portable projects. Good idea there.

Also at Yarn Club today, it was just Yemi and I and I was very amused by her saying a giant knitting blasphemy: not getting why so many people are obsessed with knitting shawls out of tiny yarn to show off their technique. I was all "yeah, I totally agree," but it's pretty obvious why that is: shawls are the shoe shopping of the yarn world because you don't have to worry about size in that kind of clothing, and that's what you make out of your fancy yarn.

And I finished the crocheted dress I've been doing off and on for a few months. Looks pretty good! The top is pretty big, but I couldn't really help that bit.


Rehearsal: finished "Snuff That Girl." The ending of it is very cute but dear god, did I not get it on the video, like embarrassingly so (sigh). Then we did "Cop Song" after that. Unfortunately my brain decided it was FULL AND DONE circa 9 a.m. and we had an hour left to go. That's not even a hard dance number (kind of march-y and there's a lot of stuff with flashlights). But I think I am done with choreography for the week.

Clocky still tested positive for covid, won't be in next week either.

I walked into the theater to hear the following: Steve: "Karam! You get to be a thug!" Karam: "....okay...?" Steve: "You get to beat up Morgan. Except then she kicks the crap out of you."

Sierra was not there tonight. "What, we didn't call Sierra just to sit in the chair?" -Sofia "What's our motivation?" -Shorthaired Sarah

"There is no official Charlie's Angels pose on the line." -Kyle

Steve, obviously saying this bit while Tomas is in the building: "Do not talk to Tomas about anything. He's a big idiot. I hate him. Ugh." Tomas agreed with him.

On having everyone get in Hope's face again at the end of "Snuff That Girl:" "So she will never sleep again." -Steve

"You are a really bad girl gang!" -Steve to us, meaning it positively.

"If you're okay with holding hands." -Sherilyn to Hugo and Tomas "Nothing new." -Tomas

"I'll just roll offstage. I'm spry." -Sofia, who says she gets her boot off on Monday (she's had way too many sprains).

Kyle volunteers to sub in for Katrina, who's out with booster shot effects. Sofia, his girlfriend: "Always trying to insert himself in the show situation."

Kyle: "The orchestra is doing police sirens."

Sofia explains the "odds and evens" lines we're doing to Steve. Steve: "You're odd." Sofia: "That's established."

And Steve decided to google for "Julie Cassidy Urinetown" and found this.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com