Chaos Attraction

Pizzagate

2023-01-28, 8:26 p.m.

Shopping day! Went to a yarn swap at the library with Loretta and Dawn. I literally packed up a GIANT BOX of yarn (mostly novelty stuff I got from Jade), a lot of people also brought fabric. I brought back a large bag's worth but was still less than what I brought in, and about 80% of what I'd brought was taken within the half hour I was there, so huzzah to that. It was well attended. I note that whoever put it together was telling people she'd haul any leftovers to the landfill, and someone thankfully talked her into taking any leftovers to Goodwill instead. Whew.

After that, we went to a really cool bookstore out in Tahoe Park, which was beautiful and had cool merchandise in addition to the books and I ended up getting three books, including one on toxic workplaces and another about soundtracks in your head. (The third was "Adnan's Story.") However, there was a teenage girl running the cash register who um....apparently couldn't handle anything complicated, like spelling or the rewards program or anything and I wanted to sign up for the loyalty program since I was spending nearly $50 in there today (prices vary in there), but gave up because it was probably the owner's kid and I didn't want to cause problems or a stink by complaining or making it too hard for the kid, because clearly spelling Loretta's name alone was too much.

After that, we attempted to go to the Barnes and Noble that's going out of business, except it was already closed. So we ended up at Target picking up various petty errand-y things, which went well for getting petty errand-y things out of the way. They then hit a few fruit stands (one of which was inexplicably closed out of nowhere), then the grocery store, so I got a few things there too. Very useful trips today.

I'm watching this video about the flirting going on between Lizzie and Darcy (the shoulder touch, her being fine with him being in her space) and I thought, yeah, this reminds me of me and Scott back in the day... I wasn't totally off thinking he liked me on some level, was I? Like you don't go around doing that shit with everyone?

Off topic, I finished the second layer of skirt today--finished knitting it last night and then sewed the hem this morning. Huzzah!

I have been officially rejected from Young Frankenstein, which is no surprise. "We are unable to find an opportunity for you in our production this spring" is an interesting way to phrase that? Also "We know that we will work together soon," um, I don't think so, but that sounds nice. They do write very nice rejections over there, I must say. Also she went out of town this week and somehow wasn't able to regularly correspond with the team. The list isn't online yet, so we'll see there.


Lines from pre-show:
I was testing the breaking glass cue after the orchestra and dance rehearsal had finished. Kelvin to me: "You can just yell to get us off the stage!" LOL.
Kimmie: "Someone throw me a battery." Omar: "I will." Me: "How good is your aim?" Omar: "I'm not gonna throw it AT her."

Kimmie: "Oh, look, we're serving wine in glasses at the Kit Kat Klub."

Brian and Clocky to Omar: "How are you?" Omar: "I'm living the dream."

When I came in for the show, I found out that Arianna was throwing up and Rachelle was being subbed into "Two Ladies." I'll say she did an excellent job at that. I note that Kat was subbed in in one scene and she did it rather operatically ("sitting all alone like that, you happened to catch my eye, would you like to buy a girl a drink?"). I gather they were trying to figure out all the bits Arianna was in but missed a few, which led to Sarah doing some awesome improv in the moment that was funny and worked, particularly when Arianna was supposed to dip her. Good job there.

Steve is also doing horribly, as in crying and screaming all night in pain. (I pity the neighbors.) Suffice it to say he did not come to the show tonight, but did order pizzas. However...I presume given his current terrible state of mind, this is what happened: (a) he ordered TWELVE pizzas (probably didn't need more than 4), and (b) didn't place the order until 10:30 at night "because he didn't want the pizzas to get cold." They were supposed to show up at 11 but did not show up until nearly midnight, after which point most people had gotten fed up and left. Some of us late birds (obviously me included) did hang around for that, which is why I didn't leave until 1 a.m.

I didn't get to mingle with the cast a whole lot--I ended up sitting with Arthur and hearing interesting work stories of working at the zoo and the Disney museum in SF and voiceover stuff and seeing cute animal pics--but the ones I've talked to seemed nice.

There was some discussion of Young Frankenstein--Rachele didn't get in either and I think she was surprised (all we know at this point is that Chris got in and that girl with the complicated name), and the cast list still wasn't up at midnight. Jan was basically cuddling Rachele on this issue and I was all "well, I saw on that website they were only going to cast 8 people in ensemble, so don't feel bad" and everyone was quite shocked at that limitation.

I did have a nice conversation with Rachele about missing my other theater and getting another theater family over here, which was sweet.

Other than that, Jan showed off a script she got from someone in the original Man of La Mancha that she keeps locked in the safe and was talking about how it's her favorite again. Someone asked if it was eligible to be redone (they wait 5 years before redoing a show at the shortest) and she said it was, but given today's climate she had reservations about doing something with a rape scene in it. This led to discussions of well, how that sort of thing is staged. I saw it done in Oakland but it was very vague/tasteful (as those things go), I gather they were more ... explicit... here with someone positioned on top. Oy. Yeah, probably better to skip that one.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com