Chaos Attraction

I Literally Crawled Up That Man

2022-01-29, 7:19 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Just A Suck Day - 2022-02-03
To Make Things Easier, Make Them Harder! - 2022-02-02
The Bunny Dance - 2022-02-01
The Suck-Uppiest Song Ever - 2022-01-31
The Final Show - 2022-01-30

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Saturday: slept in, went to Farmer's Market and met up with Ashley, Rae, and Rae's mom, then we went out to lunch at Panera and then got frozen treats and went to the bookstore for awhile. That was fun. After that I did errands--went to the library, got the car washed, grocery shopped.

Saturday night:

DMTC has people autograph the walls (or draw on them, or make jokes, whatever) all over the inside of the stage area. Eddie picked a spot for our cast to sign, Other Jennifer wanted it painted so the pens would work better, Scott ended up doing it even though she made the joke "I think Sabrina should paint the wall" since she paints everything white in the show :P

Andi has returned from her trip to Vegas, which she hated because Vegas fried her brains. I hear ya, girl.

Pre-show: we took a photo of ourselves in our favorite outfits that night. Isaiah, in his choreographer padded pants: "Walking lawsuit coming through."

Elizabeth, not sure on context: "I want them to be thinking they're at a drag show."

Steve finally photographed the show (still photos) last night. Alexis: "I would have put on a better show if I'd known that."

Mic check:

Jean has no one to pick on in the audience.

Andy sang "You'll Be Back," Scott promptly lost it. Dannette: "How am I supposed to follow that?" By singing "Blue Bayou," apparently.

Arthur: "ISAACSON! You've had your toilet break!," followed by singing "We Don't Talk About Bruno." Me: "It's in everyone's heads now." Arthur: "I can think of something worse to get rid of it." What? "You don't want to know."

In the dressing room, the conversation somehow turned to orgies (alas, I couldn't write fast enough) in little old lady land, and Jean was all "We're all up in the cabinets together..."

Sherilyn and Jean talking about auditions:
"Jean was all over my husband."
"I climbed up St. Nate."
"I was straight up videoing it and sending it to my children."
"Nothing like being remembered for how you mounted someone's husband."
"I literally crawled up that man."

More from Jean:
"I can add bird ventriloquism to my skills."
"Where are you going to wear that beer costume again?" (Everyone noted that supposedly there is a pretzel costume to go to with the beer, sausage, and eagle costumes, but has anyone seen it?)

"I'd better snap crotch, oh my God."

"Should the birds have masks too?" -Other Jennifer "That would have been funny." -Sherilyn

Jennifer's mom has flown in from San Diego. She draws on an anchor tattoo to play Shirley, and added "Mom" to it tonight.

"Drink every time Max is mean to Leo." -Sabrina "That means you'll be drinking constantly." -Alexis

Backstage:

Scott and Arie were doing Max and Leo in pantomime backstage.

Jean on Nate's "juggling Hitler" balls: "What do you do if you don't take care of each other's balls? You gotta take care of each other's balls."

Onstage, Scott has now started flipping Andy off right before he leaves the audition scene.

Post-show: Scott's parents came back again, and hugged me. Laurel also came and was very happy and huggy and I haven't seen her for two years now, so that was great. She was very enthusiastic about the show and huggy and we all had a mini-Winters reunion (Jean too) of hugging. AWWWWWW. I encouraged her to audition here. Scott said he was going to look at videos for the next few shows. Possibly even Bye Bye Birdie, a show I have not brought up to him as anything he'd want to do but that I am considering. As he'd say, we'll see. (I note the other day I apologized to him for bugging him about Urinetown and he was all "That's okay" and that it was fine to talk to him about that sort of thing.)

Later Scott told me that his chiropractor, who is yet another Scott at WTC (I think I just met him when he did photography for Coney Island), was a board member at Winters and apparently he's gotten fed up and quit and said they should just disband and give away their stuff to other theaters if they aren't going to do anything. I think we both suspect Winters isn't coming back at this point.


Cast party afterwards: this was great fun. I caved in and ate around people with the mask off...I'm pretty sure I'll make it through the run at least by now :P

I brought Oreos and kettle chips (also popcorn, which wasn't for him per se) that I knew Scott could at least eat, and that's what he brought for himself as well, just different flavors of them. Someone asked where Michael went and Scott and I said the same thing at the same time about him leaving early. "Jinx."

There were some delicious salads, and Sherilyn apparently makes the same ramen salad that my mom does, huzzah. I loved the brownie pizza with strawberries someone made, that was great. Steve made the stir-fry again, so Scott could eat that at least. It wasn't quite as good as last time (I think last time I was really into the mushrooms) but still good. Jan said he never makes it at home because he only knows how to make it for 30 people. He also dishes out first helpings after someone tried to eat half of it in the past.

Isaiah: "That's enough wine, Daniel."
Isaiah referred to himself as "Captain Normal."

Fun facts from Steve: he hates Hamilton because it's overhyped (Scott and I just kept our mouths shut!), and he disliked the bakery that Redhead Sarah just got a job at because they are jerks. Scott and I are...concerned... for Sarah now :(

Steve also called Scott weird, but that's no surprise :P Various people said Scott shouldn't grow back the beard, myself included. He seems to be considering that.

The name Elizabeth has new connotations for people after this play (as supposedly it's the middle name of Hitler and of Roger the director), which is kind of amusing when there's an Elizabeth in the show.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com