Chaos Attraction

I Ruined The Show

2023-01-29, 8:29 p.m.

Oh, Sunday. Steve was in the building but still in agony and was sent home again after he said hi/bye to the cast. Apparently the whole thing has gone so badly (well, I guess the original lumbar part of the surgery went fine, but per usual, something else has gone wrong) that he's going to have to have surgery AGAIN ASAP. Poor dude. He said something about one doctor he saw being all, "I'm a Harvard trained surgeon, I know what I'm doing." Uh-HUH to that, I see.

It was Cast Photo Day, and Laura--one of the "extra" ladies, i.e. not Kit Kat Klub--put on a lacy pink lingerie/shorts combo that looked like it was straight out of the "Don't Tell Mama" number. This is NOT her costume is what I'm saying here, as the nightclub ladies wear black dresses or colorful dresses, but not skimpy anything. "I thought you said we could wear whatever we wanted!," she said to Jan. I have no idea where she got this outfit (borrowed?), but she got to wear it in the picture. Arianna was back today but didn't bother to put a costume on for the pic either. Confusing. I was in one shot, along with Omar.

The Young Frankenstein cast list came out. Chris got Igor, Danny got Ziggy, and Amy got one of the extra women part. Nobody else from here got in, even Jennifer G and I figured she would have been a shoo-in for the tapping. Even weirder, they had one of the women's parts be "TBA." You had sixty plus people audition, I'd guess at least 40 of them were women, and you still can't pick who else? Nobody else was good enough? Ugh, this place, I swear. Maybe my whole "ugh" on the idea of performing there is because I don't get how those people operate.

Boris was there today, mostly talking to Omar about his doing the sound, and asked if Omar was doing the next two shows. "I'm holding out for Avenue Q." I asked him what he'd go for and he said he'd take anything, but his favorite was Trekkie Monster, which was exactly my guess.

Over the comms, Omar tried to talk Kimmie into auditioning for Little Mermaid. She was all "yeah, I'm 55 and had 3 kids," and hey, it'd be a different take...

I unfortunately ruined the show. All by myself, I ruined the show. I was pushing the final blackout button multiple times in multiple ways and IT WOULD NOT GO OFF. So fucking humiliating, ruined the mood of the show, made Kelvin look bad, and then I had to come onstage and get my thank you card. I crept out in fucking shame. I feel so fucking awful about this, I just want to cry.

Instead I went over to Dawn's house, where she and Loretta were making salmon. Loretta brought me booze and I GOT DRUNK AND BOY, DID THAT HELP. I also helped them work on making more cards--Dawn has this idea to make 70 birthday cards for her brother's 70th--and I helped pair together papers/colors/sizes/cutouts/sayings, etc. I did a good job of this, and it's a shame that my talents are on things as petty as that and nothing that's actually worth money in this world;


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com