Chaos Attraction

Return to Green River

2023-01-30, 8:30 p.m.

Today at work: (a) Great, I found Yet Another Problem. Sigh. Oh well, that got taken care of. (b) Coworker A asked me a complicated question about yet another Important Document and as I was answering it, I thought "I'm going to get in trouble if I answer this," and referred her to NewBoss. NewBoss later said I was correct about the whole thing, but I don't trust myself any more. Anyway, that got taken care of. (c) Coworker B is going to be having a conversation with NewBoss, so there you go there. (d) I have to work front counter shifts every I'm in office now (plus tomorrow's group shame meeting). (e) Somehow the person who had the wrongly addressed package managed to get it fixed on its own and it showed up. Whew.

I took another class today, on cover letter writing. It wasn't too bad, albeit I can't say I learned that much new info. I still want to know what to say when you don't have the best case to argue as to why you should get the job, which she ignored :P One of my former coworkers keeps turning up in these classes, so I guess she's looking to jump ship again.

Ashley decided that tonight she wanted to go back to Green River karaoke, a place she hasn't wanted to go to for a year because "the vibe has changed and it's not fun any more." Following her lead--even Jim wasn't sounding that enthusiastic about it--I haven't gone since December 2021. But she said she wanted a change, and she's tired of Pizza Factory, and Jim told her there was a birthday party tonight. So okay, fine, I put on nicer clothes and came on over.

I have missed Green River. God knows THE FOOD IS SO MUCH DAMN BETTER than the pizza joint, which is decidedly "meh." I got cider and the yummy bacon fried rice and the BEST garlic fries ever for dinner. Walt was throwing a party for a friend of his, so we said hi to the karaoke folks in that bunch, of course--the old gang. Honestly, it didn't seem THAT different to me, other than Jim was singing more and otherwise being less boisterous than usual (he skips turns if there's a lot of people, this time he was trying to get people into it), at least while the party was going on. It was down to the karaoke regulars after the party broke up. But not bad, overall? I had a good time singing and stuff? I will be curious to see if Ashley wants to go back in the future. At this point I go if she wants to go, so. She said she wants to skip tomorrow, which is fine since I'll be drinking and crying after work and another hour of scolding.

I'm glad I had a good time tonight. I did miss my friends so bad though. I thought about trying to text Robert and Sarah to come out, then thought, "yeah, Robert will be busy with whatever or go "is it outside?" and Sarah will have kids and NEVER FUCKING MIND, I'll just be annoyed I asked and got told no, so I won't ask."


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com