Chaos Attraction

The Bunny Dance

2022-02-01, 4:28 p.m.

Last night when I got home, I finished writing up my list of quotes from The Producers that people said and posting it. People are quite happy with it. Some folks delightfully elaborated on what I posted as to their own backstage antics and jokes. Love it.

Work: Because I'm forced to actually use it tomorrow, I set up the dreaded work laptop today. I got the bookmarks transferred but not the passwords, groan. Also, the new keyboard has "action keys" that unfortunately overrule my ability to do other things, so every time I hit the save button, it just shrinks all of the screens. Which I am apparently not permitted to disable because I'm not an admin. This is annoying AF. Also a lot of my email is fucked up. Four people requested rush documents. FOUR. One of them wanting something mailed where UPS does not go, no less.

Oh, and Hope's quitting to go back to her old place of work. Which figures, for sure. Again: we still can't manage to successfully hire two other people in the other unit, and here we are short again. I'm not surprised she bailed since unlike me, she actually has skills and people would want her. I have heard terrible things about where she used to work (mostly about the pay and electronic stalking), but apparently they're still better than here. She never talked shit about them, mind you, but it was a lot of "other giant org does X and Y" stuff that made it sound like a paradise.

I just wanted to scream and cry all afternoon. I was OUT of ability to keep problem solving circa 3:30. I've done this for twenty years as of a few days from now. Ten of it has been a nightmare. And there's no end short of firing or death because I'm a useless DUMB twat who can't do anything right at this job but really can't get hired anywhere else either.

I'd get drunk tonight, but I have rehearsal, so instead it's ice cream float time. And setting up my Chia Pet a second time to see how long it lasts (easier to compare that on February 1). And trying out the new drain cleaner on the bathtub since it's been about 3 months and it's back to its usual behavior again. Whee. (You see why winter is usually drunk o' clock time.)


Rehearsal: "Don't Be The Bunny." This is a LITERAL BUNNY DANCE as we are literally hopping around, doing bunny hands, etc. in this. It is hilarious and my favorite dance number so far. It is also a very fucked up and twisted song in which the villain tells his daughter not to be an innocent dumb bunny who gets herself killed, more or less. Using progressively worse bunny analogies in which the bunny is slaughtered.

I note that in this show THE DAD POINTS A FINGER GUN AT HIS DAUGHTER'S HEAD at one point and at another point, HE JUST HAPPENS TO HAVE A MALLET AND BUNNY SLIPPERS UNDER HIS DESK FOR DEMONSTRATION. This sounds incredibly fishy to me as a life choice, buddy.

Steve has now read my list of Producers quotes and declared, "That was the strangest thing I ever saw."

Clocky, sitting behind the desk, yells "Where's my knitting?" Me: "In my purse!"

Steve:
"Sierra's figured this out already: if I start laughing before I give you blocking, be very afraid." Later, Sierra is very sorry that she suggested sticking her butt out at the audience.
"Yours is like $500 to go pee, you have a gold toilet."
"I want it so over the top, like everything else during the show."
"Now, even though you're wearing a mask, you have to plaster a smile on your face."

It was noted by several people that it's much easier to keep a straight face with a mask on.

Mrs. Millennial--I guess she's the sexy secretary? She does nothing but wear very high heels and pose on the desk. Steve: "She comes in and assumes the position. I don't think she actually does any work. I love this show so much."... "Probably a good thing the 14-year-old dropped out."

Sherilyn describing the number: "Weird creepy bunny attack." "I don't like hopping" and yet we are doing a lot of it. "Should we hop to these positions?" -Sarah

Me to Shorthaired Sarah: "We are ridiculously excited about being bunnies." Later, she and I acted out the Bavarians from The Producers, including her going for the skirt.

Sarah: "You're so cute." Tomas: "It's ok, I'm used to it."

Tomas on the bunny song: "That's terrible." Me: "We're lucky it's a metaphorical rabbit." Tomas: "I hope nobody has a fear of bunnies." Me: "They will after this show."

Evan: "--my punishment for being this horrible character."

Me: "Don't you just love a guy killing his daughter onstage?"

"Should the chair be a toilet?" -Sherilyn "All chairs should be toilets in this show." -Katrina

At one point, Evan picks up a chair and flips it over onto Hugo's head, putting him in "jail." Evan: "This is why I'm tall."

Oh yeah, and it's Evan's 21st birthday today! And he's not out at a bar! We sang to him and then he claimed he'd be the next to drop out. "Bite your tongue!" someone else said.

"You guys, you're killing my dreams!" -Katrina

Steve said he'd post something he found about how they wrote Urinetown. Clocky: "With a pen and paper." Me: "That's as old as faxing."

Sherilyn: "Waggle your tongue, we all know you're doing it under the mask."

Who can paint a disgusting wall? Everyone volunteers. "Who has good aim and can pee on the wall?" -Steve "And we're having an asparagus feed in the morning." -Clocky

Sierra asked her apartment complex for old toilets "and they thought I was joking and said no." "For sanitary reasons they couldn't give me old toilets."

The "toilet barricade" is tomorrow. Little Sally will be waving the toilet paper.

"I can be stupid, that's fine." -Sierra

Me: "He JUST HAPPPENS to have a bunny" (note: bunny slippers) "under the desk?" Sherilyn also said that he's supposed to have a mallet. Me: "Again, he JUST HAPPENED to have this at work?!"

"I'm sick of hearing the same thing over and over again, so I'll spice it up." -Kyle

Sierra had a one note solo, Sherilyn asks if someone else can do it. Sierra: "Cool, makes life easier."


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com