Chaos Attraction

Two Anniversaries?

2022-02-04, 4:37 p.m.

In office day. Didn't have all that much to do since Big Quarterly Project had Technical Difficulties and we can't start it until next week. Did manage to get (almost) all the technology fixed, though. The in-office hookup actually worked (it may depend on which cords go where), and I figured out how to fix the mouse battery issue on my own. I called tech support and got all the printer drives installed (though one of them failed later...sheesh), and when Zoom and my email were misbehaving during a Zoom call, my boss kept coming in since she was down the hall to try to monkey with things. We pretty much got it sorted out and then did a half hour of "do we really need this? no...." electronic sorting back on Zoom again. Easier to do that there so we both can read it all, if necessary.

(I seriously crocheted the last hour, though. I was really out of stuff to do and my boss left to go get covid testing as is.)

My boss said everyone else in her family got covid, but despite having symptoms, she took six tests and came out negative. GO FIGURE on that one. She had to go get tested today and I said if she had it, the PCR might pick it up...I'm not sure when she did it last. Guess she'll find out.

I did mention it's my twenty-year-anniversary and she looked it up and said "your anniversary is August 19," and I said that's my date of permanent hire, but I was a temp starting in February for six months and then got hired afterwards. So I'm not sure what my "official" one is (note: especially weird since I've been given my 10 and 15 year anniversary stuff in April!?) . I did check my employee record and both dates are on it, go figure.

Finally, I got to go home. I was going to do an online hangout for Stitches this weekend, but Mom called and was chatty and I didn't have the heart to kick her off the phone after being busy all week. She's happy to be back at work, people missed her, life is better without her old supervisor. Roger misses her during the day but he gets stuff done, she says she's not getting anything done because they go out to dinner every night (in pandemic....sigh...) and they stay up all night talking. I'm jealous. She said she's a very lucky girl. God, I hope to get to do that someday.

Talked to Ashley--her heart appointment went VERY POORLY, she had an attack of...Vtac? Something like that that she didn't notice, but since she was hooked up to things, they did notice, and now she's on house arrest for awhile. No work, no karaoke, nothing. Poor girl. It is what it is, she said.

Today the Ravellenic Games kicked off online. I started a peplum top (going well) and when I got home I attempted to make a rainbow dreamcatcher, which did not. It came out more like a net, somehow?


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com