Chaos Attraction

Might I Introduce You To The Piss Wall?

2022-02-05, 4:38 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
I Shouldn't Have Volunteered - 2022-02-10
I Hate Everyone Today. - 2022-02-09
Choreographed Murder - 2022-02-08
Beating Up Bunnies - 2022-02-07
Assume The Position - 2022-02-06

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

I forgot to mention yesterday that the masks I ordered from Bona Fide finally came... over a month after the actual order, but at least they showed up. PayPal has denied my claim because I got it, which is fine :P

I have definitely decided to not audition for The Music Man, as its last weekend is when I have Come From Away tickets. I'm glad that's off the table for me. Meanwhile. Bye Bye Birdie ends the weekend before that...

Today is my 20 year anniversary of starting working at Giant Org. I'd be more bothered if it was a work day today, but that's pretty hideous to think about, isn't it? (Like someone today made a joke about "the Stink Years" for twenty years in Urinetown and ah....)

I woke up too early this morning and took my online Stitches class on knitting and crochet design. Essentially, it's a lot of math and spreadsheeting. I get the general idea but after awhile it gets confusing? We'll see how it goes tomorrow. It might be easier to figure out if I had something I was trying to design at the time? I believe that is the homework for next week.

After class, I went to set building. Painted a desk and some flats and a staircase in the morning, finished the desk in the afternoon, and also ah....decorated two flats to look like the worst toilet in Scotland, with a lot of yellow/puke green/pee yellow/red (don't ask?) splatter. Clocky made a crack that this is what Max Bialystock's office should have looked like, and I texted that to Scott ('haha"). At the end of the day I was attempting to hot glue gun plastic bottles together, we'll see if that stuff sticks tomorrow.

Around lunch I did my costume fittings. Black shirt for being a cop (no suitable black pants around though), white lab coat, and "poor" dress, which frankly, they actually looked pretty reasonable. Just dark-ish flowered dresses. I grabbed the prettiest and most colorful of the bunch, of course. :) So, a lot easier than The Producers, what with about 2.5 outfits.

Had a fun time talking to people. This is a very nice, friendly crew. Clocky and James in particular were bringing the snark. James is 18 and just...kinda adorable? I want to be like "I want to rescue you from your family!" with some of the stuff that has apparently gone on there and I don't think I've even heard most of it? James and Sierra and I were talking about going to ballet school and things like that. James was also in a gender-swapped Taming Of The Shrew where the entire set was orange, for some reason? (On a related note, I don't think James and Evan are a couple, bummer. James sounds single. They are still cute seeing them hang out together, though.)

Steve on his wife: "She may be 5 foot one, but she scares the hell outta me." Though I also note that he said he proposed to her three days after meeting her. I said I am so jealous of that and wish I could have done that....uh, and have it work OUT, ahem. (I tried.)

Sierra made comments about how she's used to having her personal space violated in this show.

James has told people on Discord about the show and they renamed it "Piss Village."

"I'm pretty sure Rubik's Cubes are supposed to line up together. It's kind of their thing." -James.

After people just kept saying "69" over and over, James said that everyone was abusing their use of it. True dat.

Showmances: Sierra dated a guy who dumped her twice and then she had to be in a play with him and he kept hitting her up. Paul had a thing for "the UPS guy" in Legally Blonde and that guy turned out to not be single. James, being bi, had crushes on both Cinderella and the Prince, and those two had crushes on each other, which sounds cute as the dickens and also frustrating for James to have to watch. (Me: "Did they ever get together?" No idea, because pandemic.) I suppose it could have been worse for me, I guess.

Sierra said that she and her mom got in trouble at an outdoor seeing of "Mamma Mia" for dancing. "First you ply us with wine..."

Re: desk painting, Steve originally said to not paint certain sections of the desk because it looks like nipples. "Not that I don't like nipples..."

Steve also recounted from a previous show that they had two very large guys in there and they had to really reinforce a platform. And then apparently Tomas was supposed to catch one of them and got a concussion? "Don't put the smallest guy to catch a 300 pound man."

Steve recounted how the previous Old Man Strong "peed" out of a Camelback on stage, but even he thought that was a bit much. "Even for you?!" Paul said, and I agreed. Clocky: "If they had done it in My Fair Lady, it would have worked..."

Steve: "We're assuming it's $5 to pee" (because Little Sally counts out 499 pennies). He thinks the rich pay $700 to do it.

"We spend too much time having fun here." -Steve

Sierra is going to tour a wedding venue tomorrow, in Lincoln, which is "$22,000, without alcohol." Steve offered the theater and I think she should do it.

Steve makes a remark about the previous Mrs. Millennial having "something in the trunk, I assume it was junk."
Sierra: "I don't know how to react to things about that."
Steve: "Especially with me."

Has James learned the "Bobby help" rushed lines yet? "No, I'm rich, I don't need Bobby's freaking help."

Steve reported hearing about a full frontal naked version of Cabaret. "I don't remember it when we've done it five times!"

Sierra to Evan when he walked in: "Might I introduce you to the piss wall?" Shorthaired Sarah referred to it as a Jackson Pollock, titled "Despair."

"Go Urinetown Lakers!" -Clocky

Evan on the shows Cabaret and Chicago: "It's too horny! I hate horny shows!"

Steve looks up how much buying blue toilet paper would be online and it's $50. "Holy crap. No pun intended." Pun intended, I say.

Suggested signs: "Recall Fipp" and "McQueen Elizabeth Hitler."

After painting wound up around 4:15, I bought two pairs of scrub pants at the thrift store and did my grocery shopping, where I bought random stuff like Oreo cheesecakes and alcohol (cranberry moscato exists? Buying it!) for $70 when all I really really needed to get was salad. I did stock up on bulk popcorn chicken and strawberry cream cheese though, which is hard to find now!


I am obsessed with reading a book called "Almost Romance".

The book: the book is about an actress/writer (Nancy) who fell in love with a (same) guy friend of hers (Howie) in college. He literally wrote a play about their relationship and cast himself and her in it and they made out on screen, y'all. They FWB'd off and on, but somehow never officially got together, pretty much because of him chickening out, they married/procreated with others/got divorced, etc. 30+ years later, he's one of the creators of Grace and Frankie and he reads a hilariously dirty email she wrote him about breaking up with a kinky director to the group. And one of them ("Candace" in the book, in real life it was Alexa Junge, apparently) loves to matchmake people but has been an utter failure at it, but tries ONE MORE TIME by arranging to meet Nancy in NYC and telling her that Howie said she's the one that got away. Candace invites Nancy to a group trip to Ashland, Oregon so they can reunite again. She does, she and Howie FINALLY officially get together, they get married and she, her kid (and the ex!) all move to LA and are happy and I am soooooooooo jealous of this. I want this so bad. And I've been reading interviews with her and there's a video with her and him on it and it's delightful.

I continue to be baffled at how some people can meet The One early on and then just fucking run from it. I DO NOT GET THIS. I WOULD SELL MY SOUL TO THE DEVIL FOR THAT and not dither off and on for years wasting time about it. (Also, WHY CAN'T I MEET SOMEONE ALREADY? WHERE IS THAT GUY THE PSYCHIC MENTIONED?!? IF BETTER IS SUPPOSED TO BE OUT THERE FOR ME, WHY AM I NOT FINDING IT IF IT'S LITERALLY IN MY TOWN?!?!)

I admit reading this really made me wish that Scott and I would do this someday. Really, really, really, really wish, and imagining things that aren't going to happen. Wondering if we have that kind of relationship on some level. Okay, realistically, no. We don't exactly have long intimate conversations over email or connect that well when not in person (sigh). He's apparently unable to love/asexual/whatever according to the psychic. He doesn't want to, said to me directly.

But...there is the...whatever...I feel when around him. That I suspect on some level he feels around me. Fuck if I know.

Sometimes I wonder if it's just him, if he does like me but it's all his own issues. But...probably still doesn't like me Like That.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com